Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Crate Palomino V32h - wrong DC voltages - V3 tube issue

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy Crate Palomino V32h - wrong DC voltages - V3 tube issue

    Hello there,
    I have issues with my Crate V32h Palomino i can't seem to understand. Long story short:
    Amp is 20+ years old and had an issue with an electrolytic cap in the preamp section, which I fixed. I then decided to do a recap of most electrolytics and some non polarized, since I had a surplus of parts. (mostly Nichicons with a higher temp rating). I'm a novice but quickly learning.

    The DC voltages for the first 2 preamp 12ax7 tubes test OK.

    V3 is showing these values for DC:
    Pin 1 says 215V but I measure 250V.
    Pin 6 says 210V but I measure 50V.

    I replaced all of the caps highlighted in yellow (C13, C14, C30, C39, C15, C16, C4 & C8)
    The DC on one side of R11 measures 275V correctly. C4 is also measuring 260V correctly.
    As far as symptoms, i have an almost unnoticeable crackling every now and then, but could be from preamp. I don't know what other symptoms to look for... more volume? is this normal? Bad Resistors/Bad Caps/power tubes?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Schematic 1.png 
Views:	43 
Size:	148.4 KB 
ID:	49598  
    Attached Files Attached Files

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    285
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 113/11
    Given: 36/0
    Rep Power
    6
    try substitute V3 with a new good tube,if nothing changes most probably the plate resistors are bad

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    11,629
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,544/23
    Given: 3,911/11
    Rep Power
    22
    Also post the DC voltages for pins 3 and 8 of V3.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just because they don't have tubes doesn't mean they don't have feelings! - glebert

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Crate palomino v32 V1 tube not lighting up help
    By tonefiend in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-21-2015, 10:04 PM
  2. Ampeg V3 voltages high
    By Randall in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-07-2014, 01:31 AM
  3. Metro JTM45 V3 PI VDC voltages VERY high!
    By QuestionMark in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-13-2014, 01:10 AM
  4. Valve Junior V3 Head input mod gone wrong...
    By rgvkiwi in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-14-2009, 05:57 PM
  5. Crate Palomino?
    By OldFarb in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 04:21 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •