Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Ampeg SVT 7 PRO U2 (ICE2A165) repair

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Ampeg SVT 7 PRO U2 (ICE2A165) repair

    Hi all!
    I have a SVT-7 PRO over my workbench who simply don't work if I connect the Preamp Board (or another 12v charge).
    First to all, the amp came from another tech with a really bad mess with the U2 & asociated components of this PSU (practically all the PCB behind U2 was carbonized). I repair the mess with the carbonized section, replace the ICE for the big one (ICE2A265) and replace too all the PSU components next to U2; then I plug the AC cord (with a protection light bulb to prevent shorts) and the amp simply don't work at first.
    I disconect the Preamp section and again plug and switch to On and the Main Board works fine, with all the voltajes perfectly regulated, so I connect just the filaments of the 12AX7 to 15v and ground and again the PSU don't work, simply can't handle any other charge connected to +15v -15V. I probe the preamp & output boards on a working SVT7 PRO from a friend an the boards are all fine (and put the preamp and output SVT7 boards of my friends amp and don't work) so I know that they're working properly.
    Any suggestions to check the PSU section?
    Thanks in advanced...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,060
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 978/100
    Given: 141/35
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Khefer Kaos View Post
    Hi all!
    I have a SVT-7 PRO over my workbench who simply don't work if I connect the Preamp Board (or another 12v charge).
    First to all, the amp came from another tech with a really bad mess with the U2 & asociated components of this PSU (practically all the PCB behind U2 was carbonized). I repair the mess with the carbonized section, replace the ICE for the big one (ICE2A265) and replace too all the PSU components next to U2; then I plug the AC cord (with a protection light bulb to prevent shorts) and the amp simply don't work at first.
    I disconect the Preamp section and again plug and switch to On and the Main Board works fine, with all the voltajes perfectly regulated, so I connect just the filaments of the 12AX7 to 15v and ground and again the PSU don't work, simply can't handle any other charge connected to +15v -15V. I probe the preamp & output boards on a working SVT7 PRO from a friend an the boards are all fine (and put the preamp and output SVT7 boards of my friends amp and don't work) so I know that they're working properly.
    Any suggestions to check the PSU section?
    Thanks in advanced...
    Do you have a spare 12ax7? So what happens if the 12ax7 is removed? Will it still power up? What are your voltages on the tube socket?
    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nosaj View Post
    Do you have a spare 12ax7? So what happens if the 12ax7 is removed? Will it still power up? What are your voltages on the tube socket?
    nosaj
    Yeah, I probe anoher one, nothing changes. The amp came with a JJ 12ax7 who works fine too. The Main Supply doesnt work with or without 12ax7, just works if I disconect completely the preamp Board. Without preamp, all the Main voltajes go perfectly fine (+ -15 V, +300v, + -55v and -43v measures perfec). I conect the 12ax7 filaments directly to +15 and GND without conect the preamp board and the power supply doesnt start running.
    It's something weird haha...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,060
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 978/100
    Given: 141/35
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Khefer Kaos View Post
    Yeah, I probe anoher one, nothing changes. The amp came with a JJ 12ax7 who works fine too. The Main Supply doesnt work with or without 12ax7, just works if I disconect completely the preamp Board. Without preamp, all the Main voltajes go perfectly fine (+ -15 V, +300v, + -55v and -43v measures perfec). I conect the 12ax7 filaments directly to +15 and GND without conect the preamp board and the power supply doesnt start running.
    It's something weird haha...
    If I' understanding you correctly and I'm not sure I am.
    Your preamp board possibly still has a short on it.

    Also from what I understand SMPS power supplies do not generally like a dim bulb tester. You also need to be very careful with the smps supplies.

    Can you post any pics of the repair section?

    Thanks,
    Jason

    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by nosaj; 08-04-2018 at 02:53 AM.
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nosaj View Post
    If I' understanding you correctly and I'm not sure I am.
    Your preamp board possibly still has a short on it.

    Also from what I understand SMPS power supplies do not generally like a dim bulb tester. You also need to be very careful with the smps supplies.

    Can you post any pics of the repair section?

    Thanks,
    Jason

    nosaj
    Ok, tomorrow I post some pics. The preamp is working right, I put it on another SVT7 and all are perfect, not shorts or malfunctions, just works like a new one...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Sorry, I can't post photos, i don't know why. Whatever I follow doing some tests:
    I work the PSU without bulb dim, but with no differences, so again, disconection of +-15V (and even 300v to 12ax7) was the only way to work with.
    Putting an external power supply to the preamp was one solution (300v, +-15v), so whit this, the amp works great (ICE chip runs normaly and cold). So I'm thinking in let the PSU +-15 only supplying the power amp section and do another supply for the preamp.
    Any suggestions???

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    570
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 174/1
    Given: 87/2
    Rep Power
    2
    My 7 Pro has had problems with U2, and I switched from a real tube to a Retrovalve FET replacement to get rid of the tube heater load. I actually like the sound better.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Retrovalve FET its a "Solid State Valve"? One of the options on my mind, was to rid off the Valve and doing this stage with two fets and a bias of 4.5v like a valve emulator...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    570
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 174/1
    Given: 87/2
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Khefer Kaos View Post
    Retrovalve FET its a "Solid State Valve"?
    Yes. http://www.robertsaudiotech.com/designs/retrovalve.php

    I find them really useful debug tools as well, rather than having some "golden 12AX7" or something. I have to say the LED bulb inside is a little bright if they were trying to emulate the soft glow of a tube heater.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    166
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 11/0
    Given: 7/0
    Rep Power
    12

    Revision H01 SVT7

    H01
    New Power Management IC (U2)
    Current IC overheats. New IC ICE2A265 runs cooler.
    Replace U2 0026347 with 2046141.

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    57
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 3/0
    Given: 16/0
    Rep Power
    3
    I'm in Michigan looking at the exact same issue. Ampeg SVT7 with blown U2, open R46 and bad D9. Can I chime in with questions along this line or would you rather I start anew? Thanks, Mike

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Bent Member Chuck H's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    pacific north west
    Posts
    14,874
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,923/4
    Given: 2,160/0
    Rep Power
    29
    To all that have been reporting this members posts... I believe there is a lack of adware blocking on their media and I don't perceive this as intentional spamming. Member checks out otherwise as far as I can tell.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Never bet your life on somebody else doing their job." SoulFetish's good friend

    "Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

    "Being born on third base and thinking that you must have hit a triple is pure delusion!" Steve A

    "Back to the amp. It makes horrible sounds when I play my guitar thru it... because I suck at playing guitar." Mike6158

  13. #13
    Senior Member nevetslab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    1,655
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 565/1
    Given: 1,309/1
    Rep Power
    11
    If this is in regards to the Retrovalve link, I found that an interesting device, never having seen them before. It does figure someone would have built such devices for commercial sale by now....I've just never come upon them before.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Logic is an organized way of going wrong with confidence

  14. #14
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    12,790
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 429/2
    Given: 224/0
    Rep Power
    25

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Please Help with a difficult Ampeg SVT PRO 4 repair
    By rickybocker in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 08-15-2016, 08:24 PM
  2. Ampeg SVT-3 Pro Repair help, R27 catches fire on power up
    By Barnaby Jones in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 05-19-2015, 03:51 PM
  3. Ampeg SVT 4-Pro repair help
    By defunkmike in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-27-2014, 07:16 PM
  4. HELP!....Ampeg SVT 3 Pro
    By Don Wilson in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-10-2011, 05:15 PM
  5. Ampeg SVT-4 PRO repair amp output
    By tinchom23 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-12-2008, 11:30 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •