Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Filtering help on a Dirty Shirley Marshall Style amp...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Filtering help on a Dirty Shirley Marshall Style amp...

Hello all,

Disclaimer: I'm a newb at certain aspects of amp design.

So, I'm in the middle of designing my own Marshall style amp based on the spirit of a Dirty Shirley layout but with my own tweets, here and there. Just need some help understanding the power/mains filtering arrangement here. Looking at the attached gut shots, the DS is basically a JCM800 front end preamp (with tweaks) merged with a JTM45 power section. My question is on the 16/16uf mains cap mounted on the side of the chassis. Can anyone comment on how this can is wired? Series or Parallel? What are the 2 resistors wired from each lug to ground and what is the purpose of these resistors? Next, what is that white cap going to ground off the rectifier and what is it's purpose? Also, why isn't there a flying 1k 5w resistor off the 8.2K dropdown resistor going to the 470R screen resistors??

Click image for larger version

Name:	dirty-shirley.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	1.63 MB
ID:	873884

without my edits...

Name:	dirty-shirley-blank-adj.jpg
Size:	807.6 KB
ID:	873885

The 16/16 can sections aren't in series or parallel. I think one section of that can is the screen grid filter and the other is for the PI node. The resistors are probably one HV rail dropper and one HV bleed resistor. Though I don't think the screen node is a good place for this since it can be decoupled from the main filter with the standby switch, so I could be wrong. There is no flying resistor to between the rail resistor and the individual screen resistors because there shouldn't be. You would still need the filter attached to the screen resistor end. So there does seem to be a dropping resistor I can't locate. The white cap next to the rectifier is probably a HV hash filter of some kind.