Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NOOB ALERT: Just some curiosities.

Hey, everyone.

I'm an engineering student from England who's primarily a musician. I've stumbled upon this forum as there's a few amps I'd love to clone and make of my own. I build my own guitars and basses these days based on what I need for a gig. Just out of curiosity, how simple would it be to be able to clone something straight from a schematic? How did you all get into this? Anyone else have an engineering background at all?

Here's an amp I'd love to clone for guitar:
    http://www.freeinfosociety.com/elect...nucklehead.pdf

Thanks for reading, y'all.

- Josh

Welcome on board Josh. Yes there are a some engineers here, plus others deeply experienced in repair & building. As for cloning a Knucklehead, please don't go diving in the deep end. Get some experience building simple amps first, see if you want to continue. It would be awful to gather a big expensive pile of parts then discover you're not as enthusiastic when the mammoth task begins. It is good that you have some experience building instruments, but it's quite another thing to build amps especially very complex ones like the KH.
    This isn't the future I signed up for.

Comment

Originally posted by ChunkyMunky View Post
      Hey, everyone.

I'm an engineering student from England who's primarily a musician. I've stumbled upon this forum as there's a few amps I'd love to clone and make of my own. I build my own guitars and basses these days based on what I need for a gig. Just out of curiosity, how simple would it be to be able to clone something straight from a schematic? How did you all get into this? Anyone else have an engineering background at all?

- Josh
      Most folks start with something simple, that schematic is too complicated for a first build. For a first build, I'd suggest a simple complete amp kit; you'll get a layout with it that's easy to follow.

Comment