EB-0 Mudbucker restoration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EB-0 Mudbucker restoration

I have an Mudbucker (taken out of an EB-0 Bass) to restore; unfortunatelly I have no experience with such a pickup design.
    The pickup has no wire on one of the two bobins so I have no idea about the way it was originally wired, "Survivor Coil" reads close to 15k.
    now, coming to magnets, they are arranged in a North/Poles/South configuration thus having no magnetization on the central screws (poles), I'm not able to tell if this was the original configuration but it sounds a bit weird to me.
    Is there anyone with experience in this kind of pickup that could give me a little help?
    thanks!!!

Here's one that I documented, that I modified, and made into my own design.
    You may get some ideas from it on the sidewinder concept.
    I never was too crazy about the muddy sound of the original design.
    https://music-electronics-forum.com/...eb-0+mudbucker
    GL,
    T
    "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
    Terry

Comment

Originally posted by big_teee View Post
      Here's one that I documented, that I modified, and made into my own design.
      You may get some ideas from it on the sidewinder concept.
      I never was too crazy about the muddy sound of the original design.
      https://music-electronics-forum.com/...eb-0+mudbucker
      GL,
      T
      Thank you BT, I read already your post, definetly very interesting but I still have no clue about which would be the proper way to arrange magnets and coils; as far as I understood the original Mudbucker should be in SideWinder configuration, but unfortunatelly that is a configuration I never experimented (BTW, do you have any link to some SideWinder design explaination?). could you please give me further information?
      reading your post magnets should be arranged in North/Poles/North, correct?