Film Caps for Tube Amp Power Supplies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Film Caps for Tube Amp Power Supplies

BG Micro has 20uF 700Vdc caps, PCB mount, appx 1.65x1.54x1 inch, for $2.69 each.
    Amazing!! Who would ever have guessed that someone who villified the evil rich people would begin happily accepting their millions in speaking fees!

Oh, wait! That sounds familiar, somehow.

Heck of a deal, thanks for posting it!
    This isn't the future I signed up for.

Comment

Originally posted by R.G. View Post
      BG Micro has 20uF 700Vdc caps, PCB mount, appx 1.65x1.54x1 inch, for $2.69 each.
      My Man! Now you're talkin' I've been singing this tune for a couple of years now. The prices of power film caps (or "DC link" caps) have definitely become competitive with electrolytics, and the sizes have become more and more compact over the past few years.
      I've used Vishay series MKP1848* with great success, and have found great prices on caps up to 100µF/500-700V when comparing prices on octopart.com. But Kemet, Panasonic, CDE, and others also have great offerings.
      If I have a 50% chance of guessing the right answer, I guess wrong 80% of the time.

Comment

I'm trying to broaden my knowledge, to use parts that may be "unconventional." So, first, would these be usable in tube amp power supplies? I'm guessing the composition isn't what matters there - we used electrolytic because they fit thebill with high capacitance/high voltage?
        Also, what do the terminals on these look like? I've had some luck mounting PC-mount components into properly laid turrets; could the same be done with these?

(I took a PCB-mount 12-position rotary switch, tgen mounted it on a tiny 1"x1" turret board, and used wire to duplicate the PCB traces that had been damaged. I put the switch terminals into what would be the bottom side of the turret normally)

Justin