Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1st build - Tiny weeny little gig amp

Hi all,
    I'm brand new to this. Been up all night watching beginners electronics videos and drinking lots of tea!

So, I want to build a tiny combo amp for those gigs where there isn't much space and I'll mic up and run into the PA.
    I have the BluGuitar Amp-1 and I just bought the Blubox speaker simulator for these gigs. However, when using overdrive, it still doesn't really get close to a mic'd up speaker when running direct to the desk, hence this idea.

I don't think I will actually need a pre-amp will I? Since The Amp 1 and the bluebox take care of all of that already, so I literally just need a speaker in a box with a power amp.

I've bought a Jensen C6V 6" 8ohm 20w driver. Ideally a tube amplifier would be nice, but I really want something pre-assembled that I can connect to an on/off switch, volume control & a power transformer that I can run to an IEC socket on the back of it. I can't find a pre-assembled mono tube board and I'm too inexperienced to attempt to build one myself.

I did find this Class D board which is really cheap and simple. Maybe it won't sound as good as a tube, but for now at least, with the gear I have feeding it, it should still be a lot better than going DI to the desk.

This board good enough for the job? Also I'm gonna need some advice with the other parts needed to get it working and how to connect them.

I promise I will go slow, be very careful and seek advice before I mess with powering it up!

Last edited by Loosewire; 11-13-2018, 04:58 PM.