Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bobbin Flatwork Material... does it really matter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bobbin Flatwork Material... does it really matter?

I am an avid woodworker, and am brand new to looking at making a guitar pickup. I was watching an interview with Jason Lollar on "The Doug and Pat Show" on YouTube, and they talked about how old 1950's and 60's PAF pickups, when you take them out now to have a look at them, a lot of the time the flatwork has just rotted away like cardboard or the foam inside an old speaker cab.

I was wondering...
    A.) What IS modern day pickup "flatwork" like from StewMac made from?
    B.) Could it be made from wood, or anything rigid, or is there some targeted reason the old guys used this material?

Typical Fender-style flatwork is vulcanized fibreboard- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vulcanized_fibre- which is an excellent material for the job for a variety of reasons.

That being said, you could use a variety of other options. Pretty much any reasonably stiff non-conductive material could be used: most types of plastic, circuit board materials like phenolic or glass-epoxy composites, formica, etc. Wood could be used, but I'd be concerned about movement with humidity changes putting stress on the windings. Also, in a typical single-coil where the magnets are a press-fit, I'd worry about getting a hole drilled cleanly and accurately enough in wood to provide the correct fit. And again, the movement with humidity could easily see the wood cracking, or the magnets falling out. Essentially then, solid wood looks like a bad choice. No reason you couldn't use something like very thin birch plywood, but it would cost more than the fibreboard.