Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Anyone had a clue how this cheapo is wired?

  1. #1
    Old Timer olddawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    La Jolla CA, Hanalei, Kauai
    Posts
    2,954
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 266/0
    Given: 30/1
    Rep Power
    14

    Anyone had a clue how this cheapo is wired?

    I can’t figure out how they are going to select 6 pickups with these controls?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	F6DAEB50-480F-4A78-B46D-9BC62959930C.jpeg 
Views:	99 
Size:	882.0 KB 
ID:	51272

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,720
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,603/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    54
    Maybe double stack switch, selects both guitar pups at once? Individual guitar volumes mix signal. So you are always in neck for both or bridge for both. Can't be neck for six string while bridge for 12 string. Chances are you won't be playing both necks at the same time?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  3. #3
    Old Timer
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chill-Ville, VA
    Posts
    3,054
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 610/6
    Given: 1,127/9
    Rep Power
    17
    Usually the "knob" in the middle is a switch to select which neck you're on. Some use a toggleh I can see where a rotary might work better...
    Then you just use your five-way & three knobs like normal for each. As Enzo said, you're not likely to be playing both at the same time, right?
    Call & ask?

    Justin

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -
    "All I ever managed to do with that amp was... kill small rodents within a 50 yard radius of my practice building." - Tone Meister -

  4. #4
    Old Timer olddawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    La Jolla CA, Hanalei, Kauai
    Posts
    2,954
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 266/0
    Given: 30/1
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin Thomas View Post
    Usually the "knob" in the middle is a switch to select which neck you're on. Some use a toggleh I can see where a rotary might work better...
    Then you just use your five-way & three knobs like normal for each. As Enzo said, you're not likely to be playing both at the same time, right?
    Call & ask?

    Justin
    USUALLY... but the description says that the knob is a volume control for the 12 string and it says "tone" on it. I'm tempted to buy one just to see how much of a monstrosity it is. Lol! To work correctly it would be quite a bundle of wires going to the 6 pickups to a switch there.. and probably him like a whore.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,833
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 182/2
    Given: 18/0
    Rep Power
    18
    For that price, I'm guessing they use random selection.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Old Timer olddawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    La Jolla CA, Hanalei, Kauai
    Posts
    2,954
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 266/0
    Given: 30/1
    Rep Power
    14
    Yeah... I read some reviews. Lol. Evidently what some people are doing is buying these for around $200 for a modding platform and swapping on the necks from a couple of Squiers or whatever. That, some water slides and a bit of attention and you have a “usable” double neck for cheap. Especially if you have a few beaters to canabilize. I’m just air castling. I would want a 6/6 anyway with a hot rail in the top guitar in an open tuning and a total rewire.

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cheapo cap failure or Not? $7000 Aesthetix preamp
    By fredcapo in forum Other Amps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-17-2018, 05:54 PM
  2. Unknown IC - any one have a clue what it is ?
    By Rasputin_2 in forum Other Amps
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-08-2017, 09:01 PM
  3. Bias circuit.what.s the clue?
    By catalin gramada in forum Build Your Amp
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 06-17-2016, 12:26 AM
  4. Replies: 62
    Last Post: 07-08-2015, 04:17 AM
  5. Diagnose a cheapo amp?
    By Valvehead in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 04:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •