Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Stromburg Carlson radio cap question

  1. #1
    Supporting Member Randall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    1,807
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 127/0
    Given: 19/0
    Rep Power
    7

    Stromburg Carlson radio cap question

    I am restoring an old widow maker radio. The can caps are 40/40uF @ 150v, but there is another 30/50uF @ 150v dual cap inside that connects the positive leads to either can cap terminal, with the common negative going to ground. What is stopping me from losing the dual 30/50uF cap, and wiring in a 80uF and a 100uF under the hood, and leaving the can cap in place and disconnected?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It's weird, because it WAS working fine.....

  2. #2
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    5,513
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 526/1
    Given: 410/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Sure it's done all the time when can caps go bad. If you're going to go that route, why not use values closer to original?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  3. #3
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    2,336
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 540/100
    Given: 79/32
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Randall View Post
    I am restoring an old widow maker radio. The can caps are 40/40uF @ 150v, but there is another 30/50uF @ 150v dual cap inside that connects the positive leads to either can cap terminal, with the common negative going to ground. What is stopping me from losing the dual 30/50uF cap, and wiring in a 80uF and a 100uF under the hood, and leaving the can cap in place and disconnected?
    Is there a rectifier tube? If so check the data sheet for the max value on the first cap.
    nosaj

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  4. #4
    Supporting Member Randall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    1,807
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 127/0
    Given: 19/0
    Rep Power
    7
    "Sure it's done all the time when can caps go bad. If you're going to go that route, why not use values closer to original?"

    With the inside dual cap in parallel with the can terminals, values are 80 and 90uF, which is really what I am asking about. There is a 35Y4 rectifier tube, but I'm not going to sweat it if the new cap is 10uF higher than the old one.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It's weird, because it WAS working fine.....

  5. #5
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    5,513
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 526/1
    Given: 410/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Sorry, I didn't realize you had parallel caps. A schematic would help.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  6. #6
    Supporting Member John_H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Las Vegas Nevada
    Posts
    1,065
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 178/0
    Given: 119/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by nosaj View Post
    Is there a rectifier tube? If so check the data sheet for the max value on the first cap.
    nosaj
    I think the radio he's talking about is an AA5
    I am restoring an old widow maker radio...
    edit; my post landed a couple of minutes late.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    2,336
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 540/100
    Given: 79/32
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Randall View Post
    "Sure it's done all the time when can caps go bad. If you're going to go that route, why not use values closer to original?"

    With the inside dual cap in parallel with the can terminals, values are 80 and 90uF, which is really what I am asking about. There is a 35Y4 rectifier tube, but I'm not going to sweat it if the new cap is 10uF higher than the old one.
    According to the data sheet 40uf is the rectifiers input max for a cap, Too high I believe will lead to arc over shorting the tube. But then again I'm no expert.
    How about a model or a schematic?
    nosaj
    https://frank.pocnet.net/sheets/049/3/35Y4.pdf

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  8. #8
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,076
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,030/5
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    52
    You are assuming that the caps in parallel are all good. Chances are the original cap was leaky and not doing the job, so they tacked a new cap in parallel. Not to double the capacity, but just to get capacity back. In other words the original can cap is now being used just as a terminal strip.

    It is just a table radio, don't sweat the values.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  9. #9
    Supporting Member Randall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    1,807
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 127/0
    Given: 19/0
    Rep Power
    7
    The model is 1100 seies 12. I not been able to find a schematic. I guess I will try a 40/40uF and see how it goes.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It's weird, because it WAS working fine.....

  10. #10
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    10,542
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 677/21
    Given: 1,590/5
    Rep Power
    20
    radiomuseum has a 1100H schematic, not sure if it is the same.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dude View Post
    But, I did learn something. There are protons, neutrons, electrons, ............ and morons.

  11. #11
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    2,336
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 540/100
    Given: 79/32
    Rep Power
    10
    Tube lineup looks similar I think H is for Highboy modelM0021272.pdf

    nosaj

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Zenith radio filament question
    By Randall in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-13-2017, 07:24 AM
  2. Stromberg-Carlson No. 20 Amp
    By cfuehrer in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 04:33 AM
  3. Stromberg Carlson AU 58B output transformer question
    By pontiacpete in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-04-2011, 02:11 AM
  4. Stromberg-Carlson AR-420
    By Rayme in forum Vintage Amps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-17-2010, 04:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •