Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 36 to 40 of 40

Thread: Solid State Storage-SSD

  1. #36
    Old Timer Leo_Gnardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dogpatch-on-Hudson
    Posts
    6,393
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,413/21
    Given: 1,196/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Terry, I notice Best Buy is offering some cheap @ $300 Lenovo laptops with SSD instead of hard drives. What you think? I'm very tempted to grab one. Plus a USB "octopus" because there's only 2 USB ports on these.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Enjoy. Every. Sandwich.

  2. #37
    ToneOholic! big_teee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mid-South USA
    Posts
    11,404
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 856/32
    Given: 846/14
    Rep Power
    22
    I was in Best Buy a couple days ago.
    I saw one with a SSD, but it was a small capacity, 256gb, I think.
    That would be OK, unless you have lots of pictures, schematics, etc to store.
    If you can wait, until black Friday, usually lots of laptops on sale then.
    I usually get a cheapie every year, on sale.
    GL,
    T

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!


    "You can't promote principled anti-corruption action without pissing off corrupt people!" Diplomat George Kent
    Terry

  3. #38
    Old Timer Leo_Gnardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dogpatch-on-Hudson
    Posts
    6,393
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,413/21
    Given: 1,196/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by big_teee View Post
    I was in Best Buy a couple days ago.
    I saw one with a SSD, but it was a small capacity, 256gb, I think.
    That would be OK, unless you have lots of pictures, schematics, etc to store.
    256G = "small" capacity (?!?) Well the salesman informed me it takes 30G just for Windoze 10 OS to load, crikeys! In any case my next newest computer, a donated 10 year old Toshiba Satellite laptop, just went into "last legs" mode, and has (only) 70 G HD, I think I could get along with 256G. If I start collecting movies or something, I'll get a terabit or more external drive. At the moment I'm stumping along on an early 2000's HD mini tower running XP. That has to end soon, so I'll sail into BB with my credit card & pony up for my first new computer in 20 years. It's about time. Thanx for your advice Terry!

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Enjoy. Every. Sandwich.

  4. #39
    ToneOholic! big_teee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mid-South USA
    Posts
    11,404
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 856/32
    Given: 846/14
    Rep Power
    22
    so I'll sail into BB with my credit card & pony up for my first new computer in 20 years. It's about time.
    Sounds good, whatever size you can live with.
    I chop my drive into a bunch of smaller partitions, so a 256gb doesn't chop up into much.
    I can get by with 500gb, but 1TB is much better.
    See Screenshot.
    T
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot from 2019-09-25 15-40-01.png 
Views:	7 
Size:	103.5 KB 
ID:	55323  

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!


    "You can't promote principled anti-corruption action without pissing off corrupt people!" Diplomat George Kent
    Terry

  5. #40
    ToneOholic! big_teee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mid-South USA
    Posts
    11,404
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 856/32
    Given: 846/14
    Rep Power
    22
    I misspoke!
    The $300 laptops at BB, are 128gb, not 256gb.
    Just wanted you to know, that is pretty small, for the size of todays software.
    I couldn't deal with that.
    I hope you can.
    As far as using a external drive, that makes it usb driven.
    That slows things way down.
    https://www.bestbuy.com/site/all-lap...ce%20skuidsaas
    GL,
    T

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by big_teee; 09-26-2019 at 08:24 AM.


    "You can't promote principled anti-corruption action without pissing off corrupt people!" Diplomat George Kent
    Terry

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Formerly Solid State..
    By TWANG in forum Conversion Projects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 10:19 PM
  2. 120 Hz hum on a solid state amp is usually...
    By CA_Dan in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-02-2011, 10:57 PM
  3. solid state
    By DrF in forum Tubes (Valves)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2009, 10:02 AM
  4. solid state????
    By benzer in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-15-2007, 06:28 AM
  5. Ok I know it's solid state but....
    By Marc in forum Harp Amps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-31-2007, 04:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •