Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Peavey Rockmaster preamp power transformer

  1. #1
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Guangzhou, China
    Posts
    10
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Peavey Rockmaster preamp power transformer

    Hi guys,

    I have a Peavey Rockmaster rack tube preamp.

    The power transformer burned long ago and i had it rewired without specs - the guy just counted the turns and made the same amount of turns with a new wire.
    The result was a transformer with secondaries 240V and 22-0-22V
    So, the preamp was up and running again, but just for about an hour before it burned again - overheated.
    I assumed that the rewired transformer didn't have the exact specs as the original, but i couldn't find info anywhere, so i just left it isle for years.

    Now, i got interest in learning about tubes and tube preamps and I came back to that Rockmaster, wishing to bring it back to life.
    I just could not understand how 22-0-22V can work with the filaments and keep wondering what might be the right specs for that transformer.
    I just knew about the typical 6.3V AC filaments or 12.6V DC filaments, but nothing about 22V..
    I found some clues by Enzo, who suggested that the tubes (4) are running in series/parallel and indeed need 24V DC supply and the filaments supply was used for the relays as well.

    Firstly, i contacted the transformer manufacturer - "Basler Electric Co" with the part number 705-29303 (that's the 220V mains version), but they said only Peavey can give me the specs (it's their property).
    So, i contacted Peavey with the same question, but they never replied.

    Finally, i hope you guys can help me get as close as possible to the original transformer specs.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rockmaster_91.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	423.1 KB 
ID:	51360Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rockmaster_guts.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	847.6 KB 
ID:	51361Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_54021.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	341.2 KB 
ID:	51362

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    407
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 74/1
    Given: 60/1
    Rep Power
    2
    If you call Peavey tech support during their business hours they will usually give you whatever info they have.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,076
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,030/5
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    52
    Yes, CALL Peavey support.

    Oh, you are in China...

    the email to use is customerservice@peavey.com

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  4. #4
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Guangzhou, China
    Posts
    10
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok, I'll try that. Thank you!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    407
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 74/1
    Given: 60/1
    Rep Power
    2
    There is an old-time tech that I usually talk to at Peavey and has always been really helpful. If you don't get response to your email I can send you his direct email address.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Guangzhou, China
    Posts
    10
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Oh, thank you so much!

    Before i wrote to repair@peavey.com. They haven't replied yet (2 weeks now).
    Now i wrote to customerservice@peavey.com, as suggested by Enzo.
    I will give it some time. If I don't get a reply I guess I'll just have to call them on the phone.
    If nothing works, then I might need to ask you for that contact. Highly appreciated!

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    159
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 13/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    4
    i might have rewound one of those, the trick is that it has a slim profile to fit in the 1 U case, so it might be hard to get a regular transformer to fit, i do not think the plate voltage is that high as it is a preamp, heaters are series parallel, divide DC volts by about 1.3 to get secondary volts as regulation tapers off with small lams, big transformer for twin reverb maybe divide by 1.4,

    popular mod is to replace 50 k pot with 1 meg so you have two ultra crunch channels instead of one, problem is, PV no longer carries the pot with the switch, so what i did was use a regular pot and put a micro switch on the front panel, this allows a good Alpha pot instead of the crap pot which is stock,

    schematic is horrible, took me a week to redraw it on 2 x 3 foot piece of paper,

    here is estimate of pwr xfmr that will get you there, good luck!>

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pv.png 
Views:	21 
Size:	6.3 KB 
ID:	51363

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Old Timer J M Fahey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    10,573
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 750/15
    Given: 567/15
    Rep Power
    25
    Fully agree that schematic is ugly, poorly drawn amd misleading.

    1) it shows transformer as only having *one* secondary winding: the HV one feeding 4 x 1N4007 diodes into a 47uF x 500V cap, which makes me think that the 220V you had on your rewound transformer are correct , for a raw initial 300V +B, typical of "starting" voltage in preamp supplies.
    You can only go down afterwards.

    Above suggested 120V secondary sounds low to me, and wouldnīt justify the relatively expensive and hard to find 500V caps when cheaper easier 250V to 350V ones would have been ample but of course I may be wrong.

    Yes, tubes can work with 120/150V supply, but that scratches me the wrong way when talking high gain preamps which extract up to the last drop of gain.

    Funny no LV winding is shown on PT and is labelled as coming from "secondary transformer" instead of "transformer secondary" , not the same thing.

    *Maybe* schematic is from an earlier version? , where they split the job in two : a 220V secondary one and again a 22+22V one? ..... weird.

    I would slightly modify the LV supply, turning it into a bridge rectified one (adding 2 diodes) instead of the current "full wave" one, which allows for a single 22V *thicker wire* secondary to work somewhat more efficiently.

    Filament supply is cheesy poorly drawn and incomplete, but I guess raw ~30V supply is padded to ~24V through R300 (4.7 ohm, 1W) and feeding series connected 24V filament strings.

    After repairing preamp, check that each 12AX7 gets about 12V DC across pins 4-5 .

    I bet you got a marginal transformer in yours, and a turn for turn replacement wonīt work any better, I suggest you try getting a same HV winding but slightly reinforced 22V winding, since itīs the one doing the harder job: filament supply.

    Sadly space is very tight and limited inside that 1U high rack.

    2) Plan B: absolute worst case, remove tightly fitting internal transformer, add a suitable socket to chassis , and make an external supply whatever physical size is needed for reliability, and feed preamp +V and +30V DC from "outside".

    Some Classic tube amplifiers did that: a power amp and supply at the bottom of the cabinet and a preamp on top, joined by multi wire cable harness and , way back then, octal connectors.

    Or, since you must be using that cool preamp with some external power amp, maybe you can mount the extra power supply there.

    3) Plan C: rewind that internal transformer with thicker wire) so it *only* deals with HV (so you donīt have an external cable dealing with +300V) , plus a simpler connector and feed it 22 (or 22+22) VAC from an external transformer or a tap/winding in the main power amp PT.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Juan Manuel Fahey

  9. #9
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Guangzhou, China
    Posts
    10
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok guys,

    Finally!!
    I've got an answer from Peavey:

    The secondary specs for the 70529303 are:
    Sec 1 322 vac @ .041 amps
    Sec 2 41.9 vac CT @ .403


    Thank you Enzo for pointing me to the right email address! )

    My hottest question now is:
    "41.9 vac CT" means 21-0-21V ??

    Second question is:
    Should I request 1A for the "Sec 1" and 1 or 2A for the "Sec 2" when making the new transformer?

    Meanwhile, i found that another Peavey rack preamp is using the same transformer (same part number) - Peavey TB Raxx
    And I've got clean and complete schematics of both the Rackmaster and the TB Raxx:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/3949a6tby5...ock_master.pdf
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/6xb8tbodvs...0TB%20Raxx.pdf

    I hope no one ever need to know this info, but if happen, here it is.

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Guangzhou, China
    Posts
    10
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by J M Fahey View Post
    Sadly space is very tight and limited inside that 1U high rack.
    Yes, the original transformer was quite "custom" shaped and the new one won't fit the 1U height, as there's no such standard available, but at least it can still fit by width and length at the bottom of the enclosure.
    It will get ugly, but I will definitely need to cut the top cover of the enclosure.
    The plan is to make an external wooden box for it (making it look like a slim "head" with about 2U height) with openings at the bottom and the back (for ventilation) and a small fan on the back, powered by additional mini 5VDC supply, or if I find a 12V fan and manage to get a line from the preamp's relays supply would be better, I guess.

    About the caps - I'm currently living in China, so many components are easily accessible here Even the German ones, but with some crazy prices.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    159
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 13/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    4
    here is a good website on the PV>

    http://snw.lonningdal.no/peavey/rm-tctp/

    here is a schematic that came out worse than the original

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pv rm.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	728.8 KB 
ID:	51479

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Guangzhou, China
    Posts
    10
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0
    It seems I sent the "Rock Master" amp schematic instead of the "Rockmaster Preamp".
    Here is the real one:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/de7nyu1o01...reamp.pdf?dl=0
    Same i got from the Peavey's customer support

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Old Timer J M Fahey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    10,573
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 750/15
    Given: 567/15
    Rep Power
    25
    Canīt download it, suggest you straight attach the PDF here.

    Click "go advanced" and it will show needed attach file buttons.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Juan Manuel Fahey

  14. #14
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Guangzhou, China
    Posts
    10
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, but it seems i have only 976.6 KB limit for uploads, which i already exceeded by 200k in the beginning of this post.
    The PDF is 1.3 MB

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    12,490
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 211/2
    Given: 109/0
    Rep Power
    24

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  16. #16
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    10,542
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 677/21
    Given: 1,590/5
    Rep Power
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by J M Fahey View Post
    Canīt download it, suggest you straight attach the PDF here.

    Click "go advanced" and it will show needed attach file buttons.
    In case you got the "sign in" message when you tried to download, for dropbox, there is a spot at the bottom of that page that says 'download without sign-in' or something like that.
    I don't usually look for those kind of things but will start doing so in the future. Kind of like the 'continue to check-out as guest' thing you see from online retailers log-in page.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dude View Post
    But, I did learn something. There are protons, neutrons, electrons, ............ and morons.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Peavey Rockmaster Preamp Static Sizzling Noise
    By broxys123 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-21-2013, 06:20 AM
  2. Peavey rockmaster pre amp problems
    By fentemple in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-26-2013, 01:21 PM
  3. Peavey Rockmaster Preamp Mod Q's
    By runaway! in forum Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 08:57 PM
  4. Peavey Rockmaster Preamp Parts
    By kenm in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2010, 06:55 PM
  5. Peavey rockmaster help
    By brianmurphy in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-20-2008, 12:41 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •