Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No load protection for Class D amp

Hey All,

Got my hands on an Icepower Class D Module. There are some built protection features, but not against no load conditions. Are there any simple precautions I can take like one would on a tube amp? Flyback diodes, several hundred Ohm dummy load, etc? Thanks for any advice. I am new to Class D.

Your class DM is solid state so it will not be damaged under no load conditions. Actually, for solid state, you need to make sure that nothing shorts the output. Solid state amps are quite happy when there is no load on the output.
    Keep learning. Never give up.

Comment

Reader is right. Tube amps are unusual in that an open load is a problem. I'd have to read the tech data sheets on the Icepower amps, but I suspect that they are short circuit protected, and don't need open circuit protection.

Tube amps have problems with open circuits because they can, under certain circumstances, oscillate themselves into creating flashover voltages for tubes and the innards of their transformers when their loads are too high. Tube amps without feedback would seem to be less susceptible to this. I have personally ... um... forgotten to connect loads to an amp I was developing. No damage, although I slapped myself a bit for doing that. I have some personal theories about why the no-load-death would happen, but that's another story. Tube amps with feedback, like most modern ones, should never be left open-loaded.

Solid state amps die a different way. Unlike tube amps, they generally don't go into death-oscillation with open loads. What kills solid state amps is trying to let through enough current to make +/40V or so appear across 50 milliohms of wire. The output devices actually support full supply voltage at huge currents, develop hot spots, vaporize bonding wires and convert carefully doped silicon into puddles of molten goo. Then it gets worse...