Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Peavey 6505+ 112 Combo - No Input Signal

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    2
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Peavey 6505+ 112 Combo - No Input Signal

    Hey guys,

    Long story short - getting power/signal when I run my guitar through the FX return, but no sound when I plug into the Input. Replaced preamp tubes - didn't solve the problem. Fuse looks to be in good condition.

    Any ideas?
    -Eric

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    13,107
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 629/3
    Given: 332/0
    Rep Power
    28
    Have you tried a jumper from Send to Return?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    2
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I have not, but the power/fx return seems to work fine for the clean signal

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    345
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 130/11
    Given: 45/0
    Rep Power
    7
    are the first 4 preamp tubes lightin up?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    305
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 79/0
    Given: 151/0
    Rep Power
    3
    Here is the schematic, hope it helps
    Peavey-6505PLUS-112-Schematic.pdf

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Old Timer J M Fahey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    11,753
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,885/23
    Given: 1,463/35
    Rep Power
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by egemme28 View Post
    I have not, but the power/fx return seems to work fine for the clean signal
    Ok, pleased *do* the test and post results.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Juan Manuel Fahey

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok.
    Posts
    210
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    12
    Not to hijack a thread or anything, but I have this problem right now and my first 4 preamp tubes are not lighting up... and I can play through the effects return. Pretty sure a diode crapped out... gonna take em out and measure them...if it's not that then its cap checking time.. at least it's a very straightforward and easy circuit to replace... I have 6 cap replacements if I need em...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    33,492
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,542/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    57
    Please just start a new thread.

    Diodes and caps? The 12AX7s are in parallel, so I'd be looking for an open R82. I'd verify there is something like +6v leaving D24, D18. And verify AC between PDCH1 and PDCH2. Between them, NOT to ground.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  9. #9
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,934
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,695/2
    Given: 1,220/1
    Rep Power
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Danglin' Fury View Post
    ...... at least it's a very straightforward and easy circuit to replace......
    It's also a very straightforward and easy circuit to troubleshoot. Instead of pulling and replacing components, take a few voltage measurements (as Enzo said). Is there AC coming out of the transformer? Is it getting to the rectifier? Is there DC out of the rectifier? Is it getting past R82?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok.
    Posts
    210
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    12
    I took voltage measurements unloaded and loaded (preamp tubes installed)...2 diodes in the rectifier were bad... replaced all diodes in the rectifier and all is well...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Peavey 6505 Plus Combo B+ Voltages
    By misterc57 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-18-2018, 04:42 AM
  2. No sound at all from Peavey 6505 Plus 112 combo
    By 10mesp in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-22-2017, 08:12 PM
  3. Split load PI in Peavey 6505+ 112 Combo
    By rocket in forum Theory & Design
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-12-2013, 05:58 AM
  4. Peavey 6505+ 112 combo, all preamp tubes gone microphonic, possible?
    By AkselBT in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-29-2011, 05:14 PM
  5. Peavey 6505+ 112 Combo - Lead channel problem
    By PeanutNore in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 03:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •