Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Amp is This?

Hi Folks,

I'm a guitarist and was fortunate to have a father who was electronics guru and who built me numerous guitar amps over the years. Sadly he passed away a couple of years ago.

I'm currently trying to get one of the amps he built for me up and running (it's been in storage). Problem is, I can't remember what it actually is! It looks like an early type of Marshall - it has four inputs and the standard Pre/Master/Bass/Mid/Treble/Pres controls. However it uses two 6L6s for output which is more like a Fender (?). Also, it's got a tube rectifier.

After going through a large pile of hand-drawn schematics I've come across what I think is the schematic for it. I've attached it below. I'm hoping someone here could look at the schematic and recognise it. A word of warning though, it could be a hybrid (i.e. Marshall-style input stage, Fender-style output stage).
    Attached Files

Looks mostly like a Fender 5F6A Bassman, same amp Marshall copied when they started making amps. What's kind of hinky and can't possibly be correct, the C and D connections between pre & power amp. Find a 5F6A schematic & have a look. If your amp works well & sounds good, that's probably the correct schematic.
    This isn't the future I signed up for.

Comment

The C and D connections look ok to me.?. And it does look pretty much like a 5f6a Bassman. Which is as good an amp as any guitar player needs. Or in many cases could want. No modern features, but the design pretty much benchmarks the wattage, headroom levels, overall tonal properties, etc. that has shaped most of the criteria for every amp since. A very good choice for the restoration.
      "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?