Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 35 of 48

Thread: No name vintage amplifier

  1. #1
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Question No name vintage amplifier

    I've had this little amp for years and finally dug it out of the pile and started playing it. Good tone, cool tremolo. What the heck is it? Image:

    http://tinypic.com/r/15f12bq/9

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Joe Picker; 01-19-2019 at 10:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    If that URL link doesn't work, try this:

    http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=15f1...9#.XEOa41VKjDB

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Joe Picker; 01-19-2019 at 09:55 PM.

  3. #3
    "Thermionic Apocalypse" -JT nickb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    3,492
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 694/1
    Given: 570/1
    Rep Power
    13
    Rear view pic please. Tube or SS?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Experience is something you get, just after you really needed it.

  4. #4
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,776
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,343/1
    Given: 787/2
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Picker View Post
    Why SS? How do you know?

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    - Own Opinions Only -

  7. #7
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    My amp tech told me it has a solid state rectifier, whatever that means. I'm a guitar player, not too swift with electronics.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,776
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,343/1
    Given: 787/2
    Rep Power
    4
    My amp tech told me it has a solid state rectifier
    If that's all (regarding SS) it would still be considered a true tube amp.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    - Own Opinions Only -

  10. #10
    Old Timer
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chill-Ville, VA
    Posts
    3,054
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 610/6
    Given: 1,128/9
    Rep Power
    17
    What are the tubes? I'm thinking 12AX7/ECC83/7025, 5Y3, EL84/6BQ5.

    Justin

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -
    "All I ever managed to do with that amp was... kill small rodents within a 50 yard radius of my practice building." - Tone Meister -

  11. #11
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    11,498
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,432/21
    Given: 3,579/8
    Rep Power
    22
    There are 3 tubes shown in the pics, but I don't see a 6BQ5 size.
    I'd guess two 12AX7's and a 6V6.
    The transformers almost match this guy's numbers from a wards-airline: http://www.tdpri.com/threads/wards-a...high-b.748336/

    So I'd say it might match this schematic:
    Attached Files Attached Files

    8 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just because they don't have tubes doesn't mean they don't have feelings! - glebert

  12. #12
    Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 11/0
    Given: 1/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	15f12bq.jpg 
Views:	68 
Size:	592.7 KB 
ID:	52035 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bzc5k.jpg 
Views:	67 
Size:	601.9 KB 
ID:	52036 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fa34sl.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	602.5 KB 
ID:	52037

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    The cabinet measures: W 17 inches (43.18cm)
    D 7 1/4 inches (18.45cm)
    H 20 (50.8cm)

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Joe Picker; 01-20-2019 at 05:49 PM.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    605
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 194/1
    Given: 89/2
    Rep Power
    3
    What does it say under the power light?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Old Timer
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chill-Ville, VA
    Posts
    3,054
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 610/6
    Given: 1,128/9
    Rep Power
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by g1 View Post
    There are 3 tubes shown in the pics, but I don't see a 6BQ5 size.
    I'd guess two 12AX7's and a 6V6.
    The transformers almost match this guy's numbers from a wards-airline: http://www.tdpri.com/threads/wards-a...high-b.748336/

    So I'd say it might match this schematic:
    D'oh, yeah, I blitzed on the "solid-state rectifier" part... Meesa Dumbis!

    Justin

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -
    "All I ever managed to do with that amp was... kill small rodents within a 50 yard radius of my practice building." - Tone Meister -

  16. #16
    Bent Member Chuck H's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    pacific north west
    Posts
    14,995
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,033/4
    Given: 2,325/0
    Rep Power
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin Thomas View Post
    Meesa Dumbis!
    I use to have one of those. A Subway Blues I think

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Never bet your life on somebody else doing their job." SoulFetish's good friend

    "Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

    "Being born on third base and thinking that you must have hit a triple is pure delusion!" Steve A

    "Back to the amp. It makes horrible sounds when I play my guitar thru it... because I suck at playing guitar." Mike6158

  17. #17
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Under the power light it says:

    120V - 60 Cycles - Input 100 Watts UL

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  18. #18
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Subway Blues?

    I thought that was a Mesa model.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    605
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 194/1
    Given: 89/2
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Picker View Post
    Under the power light it says:

    120V - 60 Cycles - Input 100 Watts UL
    I tried doing a Google Image Search of that brand but man, they made a bunch of different stuff! Like everything!

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  20. #20
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I've searched for images for Univox, Lafayette, Airline, Silvertone, Harmony, Kent etc.......NOTHING!
    Come on guys, help me out.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  21. #21
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Were there numerous no-name amps from that era?

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  22. #22
    Old Timer
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chill-Ville, VA
    Posts
    3,054
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 610/6
    Given: 1,128/9
    Rep Power
    17
    If I had to guess I'd say it's a Valco - or whatever the name of the company was who made amps for everyone from Gibson to Danelectro to Lectrolab to National to Guild to Airline to etc...

    They would contract out for anyone who put in a minimum order with specs. Lots of catalogs & dept stores would do tjis. Honestly, I think amsome internals shots would say a LOT. If you can't dismantle it safely ask a tech for help & take lots of good-quality pictures.

    Justin

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -
    "All I ever managed to do with that amp was... kill small rodents within a 50 yard radius of my practice building." - Tone Meister -

  23. #23
    Stray Cap DrGonz78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    2,055
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 273/5
    Given: 192/0
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Justin Thomas View Post
    If I had to guess I'd say it's a Valco - or whatever the name of the company was who made amps for everyone from Gibson to Danelectro to Lectrolab to National to Guild to Airline to etc...

    They would contract out for anyone who put in a minimum order with specs. Lots of catalogs & dept stores would do tjis. Honestly, I think amsome internals shots would say a LOT. If you can't dismantle it safely ask a tech for help & take lots of good-quality pictures.

    Justin
    And back on the west coast it was Magnatone in the same fashion.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    When the going gets weird... The weird turn pro!

  24. #24
    Supporting Member John_H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Las Vegas Nevada
    Posts
    1,131
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 264/1
    Given: 255/0
    Rep Power
    15
    My guess is it's an 'Airline' AKA Mongomery Wards. I had one that had similar knobs. No tremolo though.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  25. #25
    Stray Cap DrGonz78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    2,055
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 273/5
    Given: 192/0
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by g1 View Post
    There are 3 tubes shown in the pics, but I don't see a 6BQ5 size.
    I'd guess two 12AX7's and a 6V6.
    The transformers almost match this guy's numbers from a wards-airline: http://www.tdpri.com/threads/wards-a...high-b.748336/

    So I'd say it might match this schematic:
    I would say G1 might have nailed it with the schematic he posted but no pictures of that model on the internet anywhere. Post #11 for schematic

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    When the going gets weird... The weird turn pro!

  26. #26
    Site Janitor tboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Behind The Zion Curtain
    Posts
    637
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 332/1
    Given: 254/4
    Rep Power
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by John_H View Post
    My guess is it's an 'Airline' AKA Mongomery Wards. I had one that had similar knobs. No tremolo though.
    I agree it look's like a Ward's Arline. The tremolo knob is probably from a different amp; looks like a Gretsch. There are lots of Ward's Arline schematics in the Jack Darr book -- I'd have a look in there.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -tb

  27. #27
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,724
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,606/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    54
    Yes, there were lots of generic amps back then. Now all the mainstream makers have cheap lines of their own, and stores like Sears and Wards do not.


    This is a super simple amp, three tubes, just volume, tone, and trem controls. I would open it up, take 15 minutes, and draw my own schematic from the circuit inside.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  28. #28
    Old Timer olddawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    La Jolla CA, Hanalei, Kauai
    Posts
    2,954
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 267/0
    Given: 30/1
    Rep Power
    14
    Probably a kit... is it all American parts? What type of pots? Pot codes?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  29. #29
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    11,498
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,432/21
    Given: 3,579/8
    Rep Power
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by tboy View Post
    There are lots of Ward's Arline schematics in the Jack Darr book -- I'd have a look in there.
    see post #11

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just because they don't have tubes doesn't mean they don't have feelings! - glebert

  30. #30
    Site Janitor tboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Behind The Zion Curtain
    Posts
    637
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 332/1
    Given: 254/4
    Rep Power
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by g1 View Post
    see post #11
    I'm sure it's close enough to be useful for the amp in question, but it doesn't include the tremolo circuitry.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -tb

  31. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,776
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,343/1
    Given: 787/2
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by tboy View Post
    I'm sure it's close enough to be useful for the amp in question, but it doesn't include the tremolo circuitry.
    ?
    I think, it does.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    - Own Opinions Only -

  32. #32
    Site Janitor tboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Behind The Zion Curtain
    Posts
    637
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 332/1
    Given: 254/4
    Rep Power
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Helmholtz View Post
    ?
    I think, it does.
    Of course you're right. I was confused; I thought he was referring to the diagram on tdpri.com. I see now that he attached the correct schematic locally in post #11.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -tb

  33. #33
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    11,498
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,432/21
    Given: 3,579/8
    Rep Power
    22
    But this one goes to post #11.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just because they don't have tubes doesn't mean they don't have feelings! - glebert

  34. #34
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    In my house
    Posts
    12
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the help. I don't feel like taking it apart again just for photos. It's running well and my laziness outweighs my curiosity.
    I will assume it is a kit amp and just use it. If it malfunctions, I'll open it up and shoot a few photos. Thanks, again.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  35. #35
    Supporting Member mozz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    NEPA
    Posts
    809
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 182/1
    Given: 128/0
    Rep Power
    4
    Doubt very much it was a kit.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 30's amplifier?
    By amptones in forum Vintage Amps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-17-2013, 05:52 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 11:39 PM
  3. Need some help locating amplifier IC's
    By trevorus in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-25-2012, 01:51 AM
  4. Amplifier cut outs
    By cisc in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-10-2011, 01:19 AM
  5. This is peak eu-800 amplifier
    By T-bone in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2009, 06:48 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •