Need Help With A 1978 Peavey 400B Mark III Bass amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help With A 1978 Peavey 400B Mark III Bass amp

Recently got a steal on this amp and I am new to repairs. Pots were very dirty and the inputs were super cracky. Several small capacitors have leaked and simple to replace.

I reflowed the solder to the inputs and that fixed all but one inputs. I am assuming the input jack is just bad and will replace.

Here is the main question, I want to replaced the large filter caps but i cant find replacements. They are listed as 5000 MFD 500v. I have been looking around and cant find any replacements. Am I missing something? Is there anything else i need to check?

- Steve

Originally posted by steve2112 View Post
    Recently got a steal on this amp and I am new to repairs. Pots were very dirty and the inputs were super cracky. Several small capacitors have leaked and simple to replace.

I reflowed the solder to the inputs and that fixed all but one inputs. I am assuming the input jack is just bad and will replace.

Here is the main question, I want to replaced the large filter caps but i cant find replacements. They are listed as 5000 MFD 500v. I have been looking around and cant find any replacements. Am I missing something? Is there anything else i need to check?

- Steve
    I'm sure it's a mistype as far as the 500v rating. I normally use 4700 uf 63 volt replacements. Your best deal I think on price for those is usually Peavey. Call them up they are super easy to deal with.

nosaj
    soldering stuff that's broken, breaking stuff that works, Yeah!

Comment

My data shows the caps are 5000uF 55V. Do as Jason says.
      Experience is something you get, just after you really needed it.

Comment

Originally posted by nickb View Post
        My data shows the caps are 5000uF 55V. Do as Jason says.