Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vox VT30 - loud humming

VT30_SManual.pdf

I bought a Vox VT30 that was supposed to have an input jack problem, but it turns out the seller had been inside and disconnected the speaker to make it just seem dead . Once i'd plugged it back in the amp was putting out a very loud hum with no trace of the input signal. The DSP board is working fine with headphones everything functions as it should. I removed all the connectors and valve and the problem persists with just the power circuit board, so at least I've narrowed it down to there.

I've replaced the main filter caps c109, c108 and c126, c127 at the TD2050, nothing changed, I removed the TD2050 and it's not shorted. I used my DIY signal tracer and I can hear the same hum coming through the +18v/-18v DC rails feeding the TD2050. I don't have the hum on the 9 volt rails.

I'm not sure I should be using the signal tracer on the 18v rails like that, should I? I'm still new to this

Any pointers of where to look next gladly taken

1) disconnect speaker NOW, youŽll burn it.

2) with speaker disconnected, measure DC voltage across speaker cable terminals, I bet youŽll find many volts DC there.

3)
    I removed the TD2050 and it's not shorted.
    itŽs not a simple component like a diode or transistor but has a cpuple dozen parts inside, so a simple short testbtekls you little to nothing in this case.

The test is "functional": measure voltage at each pin and post here.

4)
    c109, c108 and c126, c127
    mean nothing without a schematic, sorry.
    Juan Manuel Fahey

Comment

Thank's for the reply The schematic is attached to my first post, but I've noticed it's not very obvious, it's right at the very top, the first thing.

I'll get the TD2050 soldered back in and test for DC on the speaker in a bit.

Comment

Further to my previous post, I've popped the TDA2050 back in and I am getting 24 volts DC at the speaker output.