Pots 1 --- Pickups 0

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pots 1 --- Pickups 0

At least according to this "Gearnews" artice.
    https://www.gearnews.com/make-your-c...otentiometers/
    Which boldly states that it´s not worth investing in Pickups to improve Guitar tone:
    Why upgrade your potentiometers?

I see lots and lots of players go out and spend a lot of money on new pickups for their cheap guitar, in the hope that it will make their guitar sound nicer. Often a set of pickups will cost you well over a 100 pounds. This could be half the price of your budget guitar’s value in many cases.

My suggestion is to change your potentiometers. Why? Because they have a huge effect on the tone of your pickups. They literally control what comes out of an electric guitar.
    What´s his point?

As a guitarist, I use my volume and tone controls all the time, the best tones are often hidden in those controls. Clapton‘s Woman Tone comes from using those controls. Jeff Beck is widely regarded as a master of guitar controls, too.
    If it only were so easy!!!

Or inexpensive.
    At least he does not suggest expensive Audiophool pots but:
    My two favourite potentiometer brands are probably CTS and Alpha
    Yet my heart and mind are torn ... which brand gives me Woman Tone and which Jeff beck Tone? ... article is not clear enough

Must I buy 2 sets and experiment?
    Juan Manuel Fahey

Originally posted by J M Fahey View Post
    At least according to this "Gearnews" artice.
    https://www.gearnews.com/make-your-c...otentiometers/
    Which boldly states that it´s not worth investing in Pickups to improve Guitar tone:

What´s his point?

If it only were so easy!!!

Or inexpensive.

Yet my heart and mind are torn ... which brand gives me Woman Tone and which Jeff beck Tone? ... article is not clear enough

Must I buy 2 sets and experiment?