Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

5E3 deluxe build with SS rectifier and Ampeg trannies!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5E3 deluxe build with SS rectifier and Ampeg trannies!

I have a power trans and other out of a junked 60s REVERBROCKET.Im an electronic tech by trade so I know my way around circuits.The power trans used a SS rectifier so a tube is out.Im trying to do this on the cheap.I will order the parts from Hoffman for his deluxe parts list.The chassis I got from ZACK HUNTER IN LITTLE ROCK FOR 50.00!

What are you asking?

Comment

Just wanted to know if anyone sees anything wrong with this prospective build?

Comment

Originally posted by mikhett View Post
        Just wanted to know if anyone sees anything wrong with this prospective build?
        Only advice I have: make sure your old Ampeg transformers are actually working correctly before committing to using them for your build. I've run across many old Ampeg tran's that have failed, some due to exposure to damp conditions that has caused the very thin hi voltage wires to corrode. Also OT's that have shorted secondary windings, PT's that have open or shorted windings due to abuse or just plain old bad luck. I suppose worst that could happen is you build, then find you have transformer problems, then substitute fresh known working iron. Due diligence first, check your iron any way you can, before you bolt it in & get disappointed. I do hope it works out well for you. Nothing like saving substantial $$$ by repurposing old transfomers. Best of luck!
        This isn't the future I signed up for.

Comment