Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 5E3 deluxe build with SS rectifier and Ampeg trannies!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    southern nj
    Posts
    25
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 6/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    5E3 deluxe build with SS rectifier and Ampeg trannies!

    I have a power trans and other out of a junked 60s REVERBROCKET.Im an electronic tech by trade so I know my way around circuits.The power trans used a SS rectifier so a tube is out.Im trying to do this on the cheap.I will order the parts from Hoffman for his deluxe parts list.The chassis I got from ZACK HUNTER IN LITTLE ROCK FOR 50.00!

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,085
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 400/4
    Given: 227/0
    Rep Power
    16
    What are you asking?

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    southern nj
    Posts
    25
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 6/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Just wanted to know if anyone sees anything wrong with this prospective build?

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Old Timer Leo_Gnardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dogpatch-on-Hudson
    Posts
    5,998
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,066/15
    Given: 1,015/0
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by mikhett View Post
    Just wanted to know if anyone sees anything wrong with this prospective build?
    Only advice I have: make sure your old Ampeg transformers are actually working correctly before committing to using them for your build. I've run across many old Ampeg tran's that have failed, some due to exposure to damp conditions that has caused the very thin hi voltage wires to corrode. Also OT's that have shorted secondary windings, PT's that have open or shorted windings due to abuse or just plain old bad luck. I suppose worst that could happen is you build, then find you have transformer problems, then substitute fresh known working iron. Due diligence first, check your iron any way you can, before you bolt it in & get disappointed. I do hope it works out well for you. Nothing like saving substantial $$$ by repurposing old transfomers. Best of luck!

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Enjoy. Every. Sandwich.

  5. #5
    Bent Member Chuck H's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    pacific north west
    Posts
    14,805
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,843/4
    Given: 2,064/0
    Rep Power
    29
    I think most of the Reverberocket amps with the SS rectifier used 7591's. If your chassis is from such an amp then you CAN use a tube rectifier. The 7591 has a .8A filament draw compared to the 6V6 .45A. .8 - .45 = .35A per tube of surplus filament current. X2 is .7A. Now consider that the 5E3 uses two preamp tubes. Your chassis will have more. You get an additional .3A of available filament current for each preamp tube you don't use. Even if thats only one preamp tube you have an amp of surplus filament current for a 5E3 build. And as it happens a 6CA4 requires one amp of filament current. You won't even need to buy a socket since you can repurpose the preamp tube socket you're not using.

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Never bet your life on somebody else doing their job." SoulFetish's good friend

    "Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

    "Being born on third base and thinking that you must have hit a triple is pure delusion!" Steve A

    "Back to the amp. It makes horrible sounds when I play my guitar thru it... because I suck at playing guitar." Mike6158

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,085
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 400/4
    Given: 227/0
    Rep Power
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck H View Post
    I think most of the Reverberocket amps with the SS rectifier used 7591's. If your chassis is from such an amp then you CAN use a tube rectifier.
    If it's a bridge rectifier then it needs four diodes. I suppose two of them could be the 6CA4.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Supporting Member mozz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    NEPA
    Posts
    785
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 165/1
    Given: 113/0
    Rep Power
    4
    It's nice to have a separate winding for the rectifier tube, even a 6ca4. I would just use diodes in the power supply and maybe a 500 ohm or more resistor of correct wattage to induce some "tweed" sag.

    Pick your output tube, then measure your filament voltage, it's it's real high then you can do something about it like adding a 6ca4.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Old Timer
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chill-Ville, VA
    Posts
    3,005
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 563/5
    Given: 1,025/9
    Rep Power
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck H View Post
    I think most of the Reverberocket amps with the SS rectifier used 7591's. If your chassis is from such an amp then you CAN use a tube rectifier. The 7591 has a .8A filament draw compared to the 6V6 .45A. .8 - .45 = .35A per tube of surplus filament current. X2 is .7A. Now consider that the 5E3 uses two preamp tubes. Your chassis will have more. You get an additional .3A of available filament current for each preamp tube you don't use. Even if thats only one preamp tube you have an amp of surplus filament current for a 5E3 build. And as it happens a 6CA4 requires one amp of filament current. You won't even need to buy a socket since you can repurpose the preamp tube socket you're not using.
    Agree on the power tubes, but would REALLY like to know what precise preamp tubes were used in his chassis. It might have a compactron or two, or a 7199; honestly he could probably fudge it, but I tend to think precision can lead to better options, especially since the variable IS actually quantifiable...

    Come now, what preamp tubes came in your chassis?

    Justin

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -
    "All I ever managed to do with that amp was... kill small rodents within a 50 yard radius of my practice building." - Tone Meister -

  9. #9
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,310
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 127/0
    Given: 2,037/0
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Leo_Gnardo View Post
    Only advice I have: make sure your old Ampeg transformers are actually working correctly before committing to using them for your build. I've run across many old Ampeg tran's that have failed, some due to exposure to damp conditions that has caused the very thin hi voltage wires to corrode. Also OT's that have shorted secondary windings, PT's that have open or shorted windings due to abuse or just plain old bad luck. I suppose worst that could happen is you build, then find you have transformer problems, then substitute fresh known working iron. Due diligence first, check your iron any way you can, before you bolt it in & get disappointed. I do hope it works out well for you. Nothing like saving substantial $$$ by repurposing old transfomers. Best of luck!
    Is there a good site you know of, maybe, with info on how to test old Ampeg transformers for those problems (besides dead short or open, of course)? Are certain year/ model worse than others?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The only good solid state amp is a dead solid state amp. Unless it sounds really good, then its OK.

  10. #10
    Bent Member Chuck H's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    pacific north west
    Posts
    14,805
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,843/4
    Given: 2,064/0
    Rep Power
    29

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Never bet your life on somebody else doing their job." SoulFetish's good friend

    "Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

    "Being born on third base and thinking that you must have hit a triple is pure delusion!" Steve A

    "Back to the amp. It makes horrible sounds when I play my guitar thru it... because I suck at playing guitar." Mike6158

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 5R4-GY Rectifier Tube in Deluxe Reverb?
    By waspclothes in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-01-2015, 05:35 AM
  2. 52 Tweed Deluxe - Optional 5U4 Rectifier Tubes?
    By Dan Lawrence in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-30-2012, 01:57 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-10-2012, 07:43 PM
  4. Difference between 5AR$ and 5Y3 as Tweed Deluxe rectifier
    By d. spree in forum Tubes (Valves)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-21-2011, 04:09 PM
  5. Deluxe Reverb rectifier tube
    By Prairie Dawg in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-27-2011, 07:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •