Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Crown CTS600 Repair...maybe

  1. #1
    Supporting Member tbonuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    178
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 4/0
    Given: 11/0
    Rep Power
    4

    Crown CTS600 Repair...maybe

    So, for better or worse, I've decided to take a simple shot at fixing this thing. I started with the CTS600, because it doesn't have an "i" in its name I'll save the CDi 1000 for later, maybe...

    Crown, CTS600, no sign of life. Massively complicated piece of gear, but the good news is, the service manual is very good (evidently it is too large a file to post here--if anyone knows how to resolve that, I'll upload it).

    So far, I've found that this electrolytic cap is failed.

    I just took a picture of my screen with a camera, so if its not clear, I can certainly do something different.
    I have absolutely no idea if that would completely kill the amp the way it is. Maybe it could, I dunno...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	C917 fault in CTS600.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	433.9 KB 
ID:	53259

    Thanks in advance for any of your thoughts / humor.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well, you know what they say: "One man's mojo is another man's mojo".

  2. #2
    "Thermionic Apocalypse" -JT nickb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    3,315
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 550/1
    Given: 476/1
    Rep Power
    13
    Still has a SMPS tho..

    Thy this Crown_CTS600_Sch.pdf

    That cap if the reservoir for the 24V auxiliary power rail. If that cap is bad the rail will be low voltage. That could stop the SMPS from running and so will bring the whole thing to a grinding halt.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Experience is something you get, just after you really needed it.

  3. #3
    Supporting Member tbonuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    178
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 4/0
    Given: 11/0
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by nickb View Post
    Still has a SMPS tho..

    Thy this Crown_CTS600_Sch.pdf

    That cap if the reservoir for the 24V auxiliary power rail. If that cap is bad the rail will be low voltage. That could stop the SMPS from running and so will bring the whole thing to a grinding halt.
    Thanks Nick--I'm hopeful this is all...we'll see...the 470uf cap is listed as 35V, biggest one I could find laying around was 25V, so I went ahead and ordered a handful of them. I'll stick it in when it gets here and let you know what happens.

    Thanks again!

    Steve

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well, you know what they say: "One man's mojo is another man's mojo".

  4. #4
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    11,080
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,067/21
    Given: 2,676/8
    Rep Power
    22
    If you have a link to the full service manual, post the link.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just because they don't have tubes doesn't mean they don't have feelings! - glebert

  5. #5
    Supporting Member tbonuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    178
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 4/0
    Given: 11/0
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by g1 View Post
    If you have a link to the full service manual, post the link.
    https://medias.audiofanzine.com/file...ual-479799.pdf

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well, you know what they say: "One man's mojo is another man's mojo".

  6. #6
    Supporting Member tbonuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    178
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 4/0
    Given: 11/0
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by nickb View Post
    Still has a SMPS tho..

    Thy this Crown_CTS600_Sch.pdf

    That cap if the reservoir for the 24V auxiliary power rail. If that cap is bad the rail will be low voltage. That could stop the SMPS from running and so will bring the whole thing to a grinding halt.
    Hey Nick (or anyone else) if you happen to have the CDi 1000 schematic I may pry it open too while waiting for parts.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well, you know what they say: "One man's mojo is another man's mojo".

  7. #7
    Supporting Member tbonuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    178
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 4/0
    Given: 11/0
    Rep Power
    4
    Replaced C917--now its got 14.4VDC across it (gnd to TP 143).
    I don't fully understand what this thing is doing, so its kinda fun to try to figure it out. Wish they had the TP expected voltages posted--seems odd that they don't with all of the test points and the quality of the service manual. So I feel like I'm just missing it. Oh well, let's see...you turn the crank, the boot kicks the bucket which spills the marble down the stairs, and the thing is still dead as a doornail.

    Thanks,

    Steve

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well, you know what they say: "One man's mojo is another man's mojo".

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Crown CE 2000 no output, no fault LEDs, power and signal LED on, Any repair advice?
    By Nicoro in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-03-2016, 03:08 PM
  2. Crown 800 CSL
    By lowell in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 11-30-2016, 05:18 PM
  3. crown ch1 audio amp
    By jknopp2 in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-25-2015, 07:50 PM
  4. Crown D75
    By vintagekiki in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-12-2013, 01:18 AM
  5. Is a Crown PS 200 the same as a Crown PL 3 ???
    By 1ampman in forum Other Amps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-24-2010, 08:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •