First post - TubeDepot 5E3+ Tweed build and stuff

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First post - TubeDepot 5E3+ Tweed build and stuff

I've been doing a little reading here and I've decided to ask a few questions. A few years ago I bought a 5E3+ kit from TubeDepot. I've since built one of their Marshall kits (head only). Last winter I finally got around to building the 5E3+ (the plus is their designation).

I've been working on tube gear for a while, 10 years or so I'd guess, so still a newb. Prior to contracting Ilikebuildingguitaramps disease I worked on Ham radio, AM radio, FM radio, and lots of little circuit board projects (I have a board mill so prototyping can be quick, or incendiary), still do.

I restored a '66 Blackface Fender Bandmaster before building the Tweed, and before the Bandmaster I restored my favorite little amp, a Gretsch G6151T. . I moved away from buying kits after the Marshall kit. It sounds good but I don't have a cab for it and the test cab was a Silvertone XL??? cab that I plan to use with the 1484 that I am almost finished repairing. I have the parts for 4 more Fender style amps (Hoffman eyelet boards) to build. I like tubes, they teach me things. I'd also add that Televisions used to smell nice when they were on and were much more interesting than today.

Back to the amp. It makes horrible sounds when I play my guitar thru it... because I suck at playing guitar. The amp actually sounds very good (to my less than sensitive ears).

Let's get to the point, I think the amp is biased hot, like very hot. If it's not I'd appreciate an explanation for why not.

I built it cathode biased. I can mod it for fixed bias. I can also switch a jumper for negative feedback. Right now the jumper is "out". I'm using a EuroTubes bias checker (because I'm lazy and having my hand in my pocket is distracting).

48.4mA
    388VDC

No matter how many times I put the numbers into the calculator I get 18.78W