Your opinions on a few mods

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your opinions on a few mods

I have a Bandmaster Reverb head I converted to a Super Reverb, blackfaced, and was reading in a book about some possible mods to the circuit. Have any of you tried any of these, or do you think they are worth doing?

A) Disconnecting negative feedback circuit at the speaker jack for gain and harmonics increase. Does this sound good?

B) Increase value of first gain stage bypass caps to improve low end. Pin3 of first preamp tube, change 25uF 25 volt cap to 250 uF 6 volt cap.

C) Eliminate series resistance on input circuit by disconnecting 68K resistor on input jacks to improve fidelity (does that mean to reduce gain or does it mean something else)

D) Eliminate series resistance on phase inverter input circuit by eliminating 220K resistor located at point "Y" on the AA1069 layout and connect the wire directly to the .001 uF cap coming off of pin 2 of the phase inverter tube, supposed to increase gain and fidelity (there's that word again, if you increase gain, do you lose fidelity?)

Thanks in advance for your time and input.
    Pine

A. The negative feedback is a wire. You could disconnect it in seconds and then listen to the difference. That would tell you exactly what the sound difference is far faster than us trying to explain what we think it will sound like. In brief it will be a bit louder and a bit more raw.

C.D. Fidelity? Guuitar amps are not about fidelity. Play your guitar into your home stereo. THAT is what fidelity sounds like. Hifi amps are for REproducing sounds. Guitar amps are PART of producing the original sound - they are part of the instrument. That is why some guys play MArshalls and some guys play Fenders. If they were hifi they would all sound the same. Guitar amps are not flat, and not clean, they are not supposed to be, they are designed to add their character to the sound.