Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rivera troubles

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    1,430
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 29/0
    Given: 3/1
    Rep Power
    14

    Rivera troubles

    Ive got a Venus 6 here , the amp works great on Ch. 2 but i have zero sound on Ch. 1 .
    The venus 5 scem can be seen here : https://elektrotanya.com/?q=showresult&what=Rivera

    waiting to hear back from Rivera on a 6 scem but this looks really close

    Ive swapped pre tubes , measured all the pre tube pins voltages --all normal .

    I did notice when probing , with Channel 1 on i have no noises at V1 /2 /3 grids..but V4/5 have signal

    on Ch 2 , i have noise at all grids in the pre amp .

    Could one of those "vactrol" switches cause this ? all the switching and Leds work normal..just no audio on ch 1 .
    Attached Files Attached Files

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Norristown state hospital
    Posts
    2,242
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 149/4
    Given: 1/0
    Rep Power
    16
    Hey, that looks familiar!

    You have a scope?
    Just follow the ch1 signal through V1 and 2.

    And yes, the Vactrol LDR's can go bad.

    You can hot down which ones control the channel switching and see if the correct ones are being turned on or off.

    If you note which side is passing signal you could jumper across it to pass ch1 signal.

    Do not jumper across the control voltage side.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    1,430
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 29/0
    Given: 3/1
    Rep Power
    14
    no scope

    what voltages should i see on the control side? the ldr 's has 4 legs..2 close together and 2 wider apart. Ill try the jumper

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Norristown state hospital
    Posts
    2,242
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 149/4
    Given: 1/0
    Rep Power
    16
    One side of the ldr will have DC voltage, that voltage will change when it is turned on or off, look at the scematic to see which ones turn on or off for channel 1.

    The other side of the ldr acts like a switch and either passes signal or doesn't.

    That side is usually connected by shielded cable.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    1,430
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 29/0
    Given: 3/1
    Rep Power
    14
    Thanks..no go on jumpering each ldr. I see all of them change from about 18v to 6v or less...when i switch channels..except ph106.it stays at 18v.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    1,430
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 29/0
    Given: 3/1
    Rep Power
    14
    well.... i tried re-seating all the multi pin connectors in the pre amp and loop pcb...that seemed to do it...Ch1 works great now .

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Rivera
    By Valvehead in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2019, 07:03 PM
  2. Rivera 55 12 help
    By LarBal in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-30-2018, 06:33 PM
  3. Mod Troubles !
    By Valvehead in forum Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-30-2013, 04:02 AM
  4. Rivera 55 12
    By JC@ in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-18-2010, 10:03 PM
  5. JCM 600 troubles
    By Rockworth in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-04-2009, 08:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •