Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diy Preamp section of a guitar amp.

Hello all,

I am about to start replicating a preamp section of Carvin Legacy or Friedman BE-100.
    I had the schematics and have knowledge of dangers of working with high voltages. Know how to drain coupling caps, working with safety gloves...etc.

Bought a psu module from internet which takes 12 volts and converts to 110, 200, 220, 280 Volts respectively(depends on the selection on the circuit ). Probably I will be needing a good coupling after the rectified voltages.

What bothers me is, If a guitar amp's preamp section - let's say feeds with a B+ of 300 Volts, Do I have to pinpoint that exact voltage to make it work ? Will the sound change drastically ? Since this is my first build about valves, I would like to hear your suggestions. Any feedback, any idea is welcome and appreciated

Thanks

Getting the voltage on the tubes correct isn't critical, but closer is better. If you're too far off, like 20%, you could start to hear a difference.

That said... There will be other matters that will affect the sound. In a whole amp circuit the power supply voltages fluctuate quite a lot with power amp current. This affect on the operational characteristics as they relate to the tone is absent in a preamp only build. And the layout can affect the final sound A LOT too. Cross talk between circuits amounts to a bunch of invisible capacitors all interacting relative to each other and the outcome can be quite specific. With no power amp to interact with and likely differences in the preamp layout your circumstances in this regard will be different and that is going to sound different.

That isn't to say what you propose won't work. Just don't expect the final sound to nail the tone or feel of the target amp. It will almost surely sound different to you. For better or worse.
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo