Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie question: Some issues with my Tweed Super (5F4) build.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie question: Some issues with my Tweed Super (5F4) build.

This is my first post on this forum.

I am an amateur amp builder (built two amps total). Good clean fun albeit a bit dangerous.

I really learn a lot reading posts from this forum, and normally a search function turns up the information I am looking for
    but I am a bit stumped with what to do here.

I am hoping some of you can help me out.

I'm having two issues with my new 5F4 (tweed super) build that I believe are related (if not really the same problem).
    It's an otherwise good build I think, rather quiet, no hum (when no instrument is plugged in).
    The amp has a JJ 12AY7 in V1,
    2 Chinese made 12AX7s in V2 and V3,
    Sovtek 5881WXT in V4, V5.
    Electroharmonix 5U4GB rectifier.
    Using my Variac to get wall voltage to 120, I get very good voltage readings (nothing weird).
    The tubes are biased at 39 mA (about 60% dissipation) right now.

Issue 1:
    Guitar plugged in any of the 4 inputs.
    Turn the channel volume to any amount.
    If Presence is at any 9 (2:00 or so) or less, then all is fine...I can turn treble and/or bass all the way up and amp functions normally.
    If presence gets past 9, then as Treble passes 10 the signal cuts out. If Treble is below 10 or so, the amp functions normally.

Issue 2:
    Guitar can be plugged in or not.
    Turn all knobs (minus the Presence) full to 12. Then...
    as I sweep Presence of 0 to 6-ish, all is fine with the amp.
    As I slowly increase Presence past 6 you begin to hear a slight pulsating sound (at a regular frequency - like a drum beat).
    The pulsating sound gets louder (but doesn't really increase in frequency) as Presence increases.

Has anyone had or know what the issue(s) is/are?

Is this parasitic oscillation/blocking distortion?