DC filaments (ECC803) on a dedicated winding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DC filaments (ECC803) on a dedicated winding

I had a custom power transformer wound that has 1@ 5V/6A winding, 1@ 6.3V/7.5A winding, and 1@ 6.3V/3A winding.

Originally I had the 6.3V/3A winding added for switching relays, but I have decided to make this particular amp a single channel/high gain amp.

Since I have never done this before, I prefer to ask rather than assume...

Is it possible then to utilize the 6.3V/3A winding to power the preamp tubes with DC? I assume so, but I certainly do not understand everything with tube amps (though I study on a regular basis) - I would set it up as per Valve Wizard's page here --> Heater/Filament Supplies. See the last section at the bottom of the page.

Thanks!
    "'He who first proclaims to have golden ears is the only one in the argument who can truly have golden ears.' The opponent, therefore, must, by the rules, have tin ears, since there can only be one golden-eared person per argument." - Randall Aiken

Possible? Sure. You'll run into several difficulties, all of which are relatively well known. There are solutions for them, though.

The 6.3V/3A winding can be full wave rectified into 6.3V*1.1414 - 1.4V = 8.9V - 1.4V = 7.5V. The actual voltage will be a little more or less, as "6.3V" varies a little in reality. The tricky part is that you don't have enough voltage from 7.5V to run a normal linear regulator to make a stable 6V with a simple linear regulator like a 7806. These things need 2V or so to work right, and the 7.5V estimate is uncomfortably on the low side.

You could simply make the 7.5(ish) and use a resistor in series with the 7.5V to the heaters, with 12A?7 tubes wired for 6V. The resistor eats up the excess voltage. The heaters are a fairly resistive load once they get hot, so this setup stabilizes. Heaters don't really need regulators as long as the supply is fairly well controlled.