X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transform STK404-130S + board

Hy guys,

I'm new in electronic and this thread would be quite unusuable
    I just bought a Sony Active Subwoofer SA-WMSP85. The amp is STK404-130S. It works perfectly but I don't have a receiver nor do I have the $ to buy one so currently I only have bass.
    Here i the active subwoofer:

Here is the amp/circuit board:

Here is the STK amp datasheet: http://pdf.datasheetcatalog.com/data...wlpx9ha3wy.pdf

So my question is where can I plug/weld and a high frequency speakers or how can I modify the amp/board circuit to also provide high frequencies output?

I can provide any additional information if needed.

Thanks.

Cheers.

What kind of program will you listen to?

To be more precise, which will be your Music source?
    Juan Manuel Fahey

Comment

Originally posted by J M Fahey View Post
      What kind of program will you listen to?

To be more precise, which will be your Music source?
      Currently the sound source is simply a smartphone and it is quite loud as it is an active subwoofer but still I only have bass. I wondered if there's an amplifier within yhe subwoofer maybe there could be a way to use it to get the amplified sound - high frequency speakers before all the high frequencies gets filtered out.

Comment

Here are the specs:
        Continuous RMS power output
        (6 ohms, 20 – 250 Hz)
        SA-WMSP85 100 W
        Reproduction frequency range
        28Hz – 200 Hz
        High frequency cut-off frequency
        150 Hz
        Here is the schematic: SA-WMSP75_WMSP85.pdf

From the looks of it the preamp coupling capacitors seem to be doing all of the frequency cutoff.

Full SM: Sony--SA-WMSP75--service--ID11377.pdf

Comment

In principle you may bypass the heavy lowpass filtering at the input and have a flat poweramp.

Problem is the speaker, muddy as h*ll, ZERO mids and highs.