Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calling all Tube Techs -- Crazy NAT Single Ended Triode amplifier

I am an electronics Tech with far more experience in solid state
    and digital circuits, than with vacuum tube equipment.
    Customer brought in an
    NAT model # "Single" It is a high-end SET Stereo Integrated amp.

I gave up on it recently. Each channel uses a single #805 Triode
    driven by a 6H1N dual section tube.
    I have NEVER seen any tube amp with negative 530 volts on the GRID
    of the #805 tubes and the PLATE (which shows negative 20 volts) connected thru the
    output transformer PRIMARY to CHASSIS/CIRCUIT GROUND.
    The filament supply is a only a bridge rectifier ...unfiltered and providing 10 volts.

On google images I don't see ANY schematics showing this scheme
    or that any manufacturer has ever done this.
    I have always seen a high POSITIVE voltage on the plates of tube amps.
    I don't know if a tube amp can actually work with the plates of
    the output tubes referenced to ground.

Both channels only produce about 3 watts RMS into 8 ohms.
    This is a TWIN AMP / completely discrete design.
    The only channel commonality is the line cord, the power switch and power transformer.
    Manufacturer (in Serbia) promotes this as a 50 watts per channel amp.

There is a huge amount of sine wave signal on each output tube grid but
    very weak at the plate. I don't see any feedback loop problem.
    My opinion is the amp was made this way.....a mistaken design.
    I have some dis-jointed schematics of this amp but they
    are too simplified and hugely unhelpful.

The amp does play thru speakers ....so the customer did not know
    the output was so weak. He only brought it to me to replace
    frayed anode wires and a couple of broken RCA jacks at the CD input.

I would like to refer him to someone local in South Florida with more tube
    experience than I have and that he can bring this 110 pound amp to.