Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Peavey KB100 no sound, hum volume with reverb knob

  1. #1
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Peavey KB100 no sound, hum volume with reverb knob

    I have a Peavey KB100 that produces no sound in either of the 3 inputs. However, a hum can be heard as I turn the reverb knob up. The hum gets louder as I turn the reverb knob up.
    I can also hear a small static snap as I go to plug in an instrument into any of the three inputs.
    I am technically capable of making the repairs, however I need help with troubleshooting.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    12,887
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 492/3
    Given: 260/0
    Rep Power
    26
    Have you tried running a signal level patch cord from the Pre Amp Out jack to the Power Amp In jack?
    If that wakes it up then you have a dirty or bad Power Amp In jack.

    If not that, try sending a signal directly in to the Power Amp In jack.
    That will bypass the entire preamp.
    Alternatively, run the Pre Amp Out jack to another amp.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jazz P Bass View Post
    Have you tried running a signal level patch cord from the Pre Amp Out jack to the Power Amp In jack?
    If that wakes it up then you have a dirty or bad Power Amp In jack.

    If not that, try sending a signal directly in to the Power Amp In jack.
    That will bypass the entire preamp.
    Alternatively, run the Pre Amp Out jack to another amp.
    If I never use the pre amp out and pwr amp in jacks, then what difference would it make if they are dirty? I only plug in to the 3 inputs (which do not work except for static and hum from the reverb).
    Thanks.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by troyadams; 10-07-2019 at 11:33 PM. Reason: Misspelled "hum".

  4. #4
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,261
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,184/1
    Given: 916/1
    Rep Power
    16
    The return jack is a switching jack. The switch connects preamp to power amp when nothing is plugged into the jack. If it's contacts are dirty or corroded, it won't switch, effectively leaving the preamp disconnected from the power amp. Here's an entire thread on the matter.

    https://music-electronics-forum.com/...ad.php?t=48339

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  5. #5
    Old Timer Leo_Gnardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dogpatch-on-Hudson
    Posts
    6,381
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,401/21
    Given: 1,187/0
    Rep Power
    14
    I post this so often, oughta have it on "speed dial." Hear ye, hear ye, read ALL about it, here:

    The Dreaded Switching Jack Problem

    https://music-electronics-forum.com/...ad.php?t=28549

    -----------------------

    The Dude: you beat me to it. By 2 minutes. Imma gonna hafta eat my Wheaties!

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Enjoy. Every. Sandwich.

  6. #6
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,875
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,729/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    54
    Your signal runs THROUGH those jacks whether you use them or not.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  7. #7
    Old Timer Leo_Gnardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dogpatch-on-Hudson
    Posts
    6,381
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,401/21
    Given: 1,187/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Enzo View Post
    Your signal runs THROUGH those jacks whether you use them or not.
    I was gonna say, but I'm trying to be polite today. Don't worry it won't last long!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Enjoy. Every. Sandwich.

  8. #8
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok, I patched the pre amp and power amp and I get sound in all inputs but it doesn't get very loud. I removed the patch and it makes no difference. The volume on each of the 3 inputs seems to work but none get very loud.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,261
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,184/1
    Given: 916/1
    Rep Power
    16
    What are you plugging into the inputs? They are line level. A guitar won't likely be very loud.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  10. #10
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    12,887
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 492/3
    Given: 260/0
    Rep Power
    26
    "If not that, try sending a signal directly in to the Power Amp In jack.
    That will bypass the entire preamp.

    Alternatively, run the Pre Amp Out jack to another amp."

    You need to isolate the problem.
    Preamp Or Power Amp.

    Keep in mind it could be both.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I have an Alesis Recital Pro keyboard. It is connected via the left line out mono jack into the number one (2 or 3) input on the kb100 amp. I cannot seem to get any stage quality volume out of the amp like I used to years ago. It had been unused for many years. I do get some volume, and the maximum I can get is with the input knob pulled out and cranked up to 10, and all the equalization cranked up to 15. At this setting, it is loud but it sounds terrible. And I get no compression like it used to.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,875
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,729/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    54
    First things first. Have you tried the keyboard into a different amp? And have you tried a different keyboard or even a guitar into this amp? So far it is still possible the problem lies outside the amp until we verify the problem.

    Then if the amp is indeed at fault, plug the instrument into the FX return jack, now how does it sound? yes, I know the controls will have no effect that way.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  13. #13
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    5
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    The KB100 seems to be getting better the more I mess with it. Is that logical?
    There's still some crackling in the input knobs and the overall volume is almost as loud as it used to be. Still no compression light.
    I have connected the keyboard to a PA and I've also connected a banjo with a passive pickup to the KB100.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  14. #14
    Old Timer
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,105
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 90/0
    Given: 57/0
    Rep Power
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by troyadams View Post
    The KB100 seems to be getting better the more I mess with it. Is that logical?
    Yes, it seems to me that your amp is basically in need of a 10,000 mile tune up. Get yourself a can of DeoxIt contact cleaner and use it to clean all of the pots and all of the jacks (yes, even the ones that you don't use). You should also clean all of the Molex connectors that run from the different pc boards and transformers, etc. If the amp has been regularly gigged with and has been moved around a lot, you should also check the pc board for loose or broken solder connections.

    Everything oxidizes with time. The different metal contact points in the amp are slowly being covered with a film of dirt, corrosion, dust that will change the way that they conduct electricity. In the case of the loop jacks that are part of the audio signal path, the dirty contacts will cut or reduce the signal level down to the point where there will be as in your case, no signal from the amp at all.

    Good luck.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Supporting Member TomCarlos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Roseville, Ca.
    Posts
    720
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 89/0
    Given: 198/0
    Rep Power
    11

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Peavey KB100 Hum
    By misterc57 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 08-24-2018, 01:23 PM
  2. Peavey KB100 no sound
    By Tone Meister in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-21-2015, 04:59 PM
  3. peavey kb100
    By anthillrich in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-09-2009, 10:21 PM
  4. Peavey KB100 KB 100 Distorted Output
    By misterc57 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-28-2009, 08:34 AM
  5. Peavey Bandit 65 - Problem in volume knob
    By rpacf in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2009, 02:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •