Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 36 to 51 of 51

Thread: Silvertone 1484 Twin Twelve

  1. #36
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,555
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,906/1
    Given: 1,103/2
    Rep Power
    5
    I've only been told the Chinese caps are inferior, never seen it so far in my short tenure as a tube amp guy.

    I will defer to your experienced opinion Helmholtz, and continue to use my Chengx branded caps.
    To be clear, I can't comment on Chinese brands. I doubt they are comparable to japanese quality, might look similar, though.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Helmholtz; 11-03-2019 at 02:55 PM.
    - Own Opinions Only -

  2. #37
    Member HaroldBrooks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    259
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 133/0
    Given: 749/0
    Rep Power
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Helmholtz View Post
    To be clear, I can't comment on Chinese brands. I doubt they are comparable to japanese quality, might look similar, though.
    By the way I did check out roughly 50 Chinese made 450V filter caps (out of circuit) along the way with my ESR meter, and all of them past, and the values were very close to each other, with only two as outliers, as they were a bit further from the average but still good. Not too bad in my book, and the Price is incredibly low ! of course I will always have an eye on my own stuff to see how things look and act.

    If I was building or refurbishing an amp for a customer, I would indeed want to make sure all the caps were reliable, again for at least several years without any issues. Also, I would shotgun replace all caps in anything over 20 years old. I haven't automatically done that in my own amps, but I feel you would owe it to your customer to give them something reliable. I have changed my opinion on this, as I have bought vintage amps with all the caps bad in the last year, and they looked fairly good visually, and one can cap created a nasty short that took out a fat node resistor prior to the fuse blowing. So I wouldn't play a Russian Roulette game with a customer's amp. Only my own !

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by HaroldBrooks; 11-03-2019 at 11:08 PM.

  3. #38
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Rhinebeck NY
    Posts
    88
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 60/0
    Given: 30/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Baffle making time. The old one is good for a pattern. Thats about it.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1104191612.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	1.29 MB 
ID:	55862 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1104191653.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	1.33 MB 
ID:	55863 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1104191623.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	1.10 MB 
ID:	55864 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1104191741.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	1.81 MB 
ID:	55865

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #39
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    286
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 71/0
    Given: 121/0
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by tigerzilly View Post
    Baffle making time. The old one is good for a pattern. Thats about it.
    There goes the Silver tone.. Looks good , other than the gained weight, it will make a solid improvement. Quite sure the masonite was all about $$$cheap$$$cheap$$$ production.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #40
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Rhinebeck NY
    Posts
    88
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 60/0
    Given: 30/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shortcircuit View Post
    There goes the Silver tone.. Quite sure the masonite was all about $$$cheap$$$cheap$$$ production.
    They used the same masonite board inside the chassis for mounting terminal strips. I thought it interesting that the old baffle is stamped "Made in Finland".

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1105190833.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	1.82 MB 
ID:	55867

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #41
    Supporting Member eschertron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Great Black Swamp
    Posts
    2,267
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 448/0
    Given: 1,209/1
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by tigerzilly View Post
    They used the same masonite board inside the chassis for mounting terminal strips. I thought it interesting that the old baffle is stamped "Made in Finland".
    Of course! Where else would you get "Baltic masonite"?

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If it still won't get loud enough, it's probably broken. - Steve Conner
    If the thing works, stop fixing it. - Enzo
    We need more chaos in music, in art... I'm here to make it. - Justin Thomas
    MANY things in human experience can be easily differentiated, yet *impossible* to express as a measurement. - Juan Fahey


  7. #42
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Rhinebeck NY
    Posts
    88
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 60/0
    Given: 30/0
    Rep Power
    0
    New baffle is complete and in the cabinet. I also put a coat of clear epoxy on the exposed Particle board inside the cabinet and on the banged up edges. That should stabilize the wood so it doesn't keep crumbling.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1106190723.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	1.61 MB 
ID:	55873 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1106190724.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	1.92 MB 
ID:	55874 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1106190725.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	1.39 MB 
ID:	558754pm

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by tigerzilly; 11-07-2019 at 12:52 PM.

  8. #43
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Rhinebeck NY
    Posts
    88
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 60/0
    Given: 30/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Speaker cabinet is back together and speakers remounted. I replaced the all electrolytic caps except for the can capacitor, because I forgot to order a new base plate for the can cap. That's on order now.

    I did another test and the amp and speaker sound good. I have to check the standby switch though. At first I thought I had very little volume then I realized it was on standby. I switched to operate and the volume is loud and sound is good. Not sure why I would hear any sound with the switch on standby.

    The reverb works but I get feedback from it when I turn the reverb up much. I'll have to check into that.

    I did some cosmetic work on the cab. I usually leave a vintage amp cab alone and accept the wear as part of the vintage thing. This had a few too many rips and missing pieces of covering so I touched the exposed wood with some paint. It still looks vintage, just not shabby.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1109192014.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	1.77 MB 
ID:	55913 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1109192247a.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	1.60 MB 
ID:	55914 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1109192247.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	1.88 MB 
ID:	55915 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1109192248.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	1.25 MB 
ID:	55916

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Cornelius, Oregon
    Posts
    1,420
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 112/0
    Given: 208/2
    Rep Power
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by tigerzilly View Post
    Speaker cabinet is back together and speakers remounted. I replaced the all electrolytic caps except for the can capacitor, because I forgot to order a new base plate for the can cap. That's on order now.

    I did another test and the amp and speaker sound good. I have to check the standby switch though. At first I thought I had very little volume then I realized it was on standby. I switched to operate and the volume is loud and sound is good. Not sure why I would hear any sound with the switch on standby.

    The reverb works but I get feedback from it when I turn the reverb up much. I'll have to check into that.

    I did some cosmetic work on the cab. I usually leave a vintage amp cab alone and accept the wear as part of the vintage thing. This had a few too many rips and missing pieces of covering so I touched the exposed wood with some paint. It still looks vintage, just not shabby.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1109192014.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	1.77 MB 
ID:	55913 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1109192247a.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	1.60 MB 
ID:	55914 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1109192247.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	1.88 MB 
ID:	55915 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1109192248.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	1.25 MB 
ID:	55916
    That is how the standby is on these amps. They short the power tube grids together, but it is imperfect, so there is a bit of leakage. I consider it part of the charm of these amps.

    Greg

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #45
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,461
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,015/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    I've only been told the Chinese caps are inferior,
    That assumes all CHinese caps are the same. "Chinese" is no more descriptive than "western". Good stuff comes from CHina, crappy stuff comes from China, middling stuff too.

    Sprague Atoms are purposely oversized, they make them to sell to nostalgic older technicians, and audiophiles wanting some sort of originality in their stuff. If you cut open an Atom, you will find inside a smaller sized cap plus empty space around it.

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  11. #46
    Stray Cap DrGonz78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    2,172
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 364/5
    Given: 262/0
    Rep Power
    11
    How do those sprague caps vent if they become leaky? I mean does the electrolyte spew out into the empty space that encapsulates it? Could that be better than all over the circuitry?

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  12. #47
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,459
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,308/1
    Given: 1,007/1
    Rep Power
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Enzo View Post
    That assumes all CHinese caps are the same. "Chinese" is no more descriptive than "western". Good stuff comes from CHina, crappy stuff comes from China, middling stuff too......
    That's not what "that other guy" used to say!

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  13. #48
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Rhinebeck NY
    Posts
    88
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 60/0
    Given: 30/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I installed a new can cap. Now all electrolytic caps replaced.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1114191615a.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	1.94 MB 
ID:	55957 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1114191616a.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	1.60 MB 
ID:	55958

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  14. #49
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Rhinebeck NY
    Posts
    88
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 60/0
    Given: 30/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Back together and sounding great!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1115190905.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	2.44 MB 
ID:	55959 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1115190904.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	2.64 MB 
ID:	55960 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1114191654.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	2.35 MB 
ID:	55961

    7 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #50
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    698
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 6/0
    Given: 1/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by soundmasterg View Post
    That is how the standby is on these amps. They short the power tube grids together, but it is imperfect, so there is a bit of leakage. I consider it part of the charm of these amps.

    Greg
    You can simply replace that switch with a pot, and have a master volume.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  16. #51
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Rhinebeck NY
    Posts
    88
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 60/0
    Given: 30/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Here are some recordings of the Silvertone 1484. Sounds pretty good even with the Chinese caps.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. No Sound From 2nd Channel On My Silvertone 1484 Twin Twelve Head
    By elixxrx66 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-26-2019, 03:53 AM
  2. Silvertone 1484 Twin Twelve - Restore Pics
    By CoopDaKill in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-31-2012, 02:38 AM
  3. Silvertone 1484 Twin Twelve - Channel EFX Questions
    By CoopDaKill in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2012, 05:25 AM
  4. Silvertone 1484 Twin Twelve Tremolo Not Working
    By elixxrx66 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 04:33 AM
  5. Big Problem With My Silvertone 1484 Twin Twelve Head
    By elixxrx66 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2009, 06:26 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •