Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Ibanez TSA15H Blowing fuse when B+ is connected

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    8
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Ibanez TSA15H Blowing fuse when B+ is connected

    I have an Ibanez TSA15H coming in that apparently is blowing a fuse when the B+ is connected, even with the tubes removed.
    It may be a bit premature since I don't have the amp apart on the bench, but even without knowing if it is either the primary or B+ fuse, with the tubes removed I'm a bit stumped as to what could cause either fuse to blow when there is no real load on the B+ line.
    The amp is just about a year old so I don't think it has been abused.

    I've seen a couple of threads elsewhere that the B+ fuse was originally undervalued at 500 mA and there was a tech notice to increase the value - it would great if that was the issue.
    I'm hoping that the output transformer isn't toasted although a 6V6 output isn't that expensive.

    Any ideas or "history" on fuse issues

    thanks
    Mike

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    298
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 115/11
    Given: 38/0
    Rep Power
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Saransk93 View Post
    I have an Ibanez TSA15H coming in that apparently is blowing a fuse when the B+ is connected, even with the tubes removed.
    It may be a bit premature since I don't have the amp apart on the bench, but even without knowing if it is either the primary or B+ fuse, with the tubes removed I'm a bit stumped as to what could cause either fuse to blow when there is no real load on the B+ line.
    The amp is just about a year old so I don't think it has been abused.

    I've seen a couple of threads elsewhere that the B+ fuse was originally undervalued at 500 mA and there was a tech notice to increase the value - it would great if that was the issue.
    I'm hoping that the output transformer isn't toasted although a 6V6 output isn't that expensive.

    Any ideas or "history" on fuse issues

    thanks
    Mike
    old fuse blows sometime,but when you replace it its sorted out,then it can be a shorted rectifier,faulty main capacitor,defective HV secondary.

    just use a bulb limiter in series with mains voltage.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Senior Member vintagekiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,591
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 268/1
    Given: 220/0
    Rep Power
    16
    F2 (0.5A) fuse must be slow (T) not fast (F).
    If F2 (0.5A) fuse blows when STANDBY (SW2) is OFF check / replace D5-D9 (1N4007), C27 (47u/450V), and eventually C42 (.1/1000V).

    https://music-electronics-forum.com/showthread.php?t=36807&p=408014&viewfull=1#post408014
    http://el34world.com/Forum/index.php?topic=25027.0
    TSA15 Schematic

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by vintagekiki; 11-07-2019 at 08:53 PM.
    Who does not know and knows that he does not know - teach him Confucius)
    Who knows and does not know that he knows - wake him Confucius)

  4. #4
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,317
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,218/1
    Given: 945/1
    Rep Power
    16
    The B+ is fused pre-rectifier on the transformer secondary, so you could have a shorted rectifier diode or diodes.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    8
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    The fuse that blows is the Primary - F1
    I have to go out and find replacements because the fuses are the smaller metric size
    There is no apparent failure, blown component, etc.
    Since the fuse blows without the tubes, doesn't blow if the B+ from the transformer are disconnected, it most likely has to be in the rectification circuit.
    I want to see what happens when I put in a known "slow-blow" fuse and put it on a "lamp limiter."
    I also want to look underneath and see if there is a visible clue - or even something like a pinched wire.ne "weirdness" is that, while shown on the schematic, the 470 ohm Screen Resistors are not installed.
    While I haven't found a definitive photo, I don't see them installed in any "gut shot" and I wonder where they would be.
    There are a couple of other errors on the schematic that don't match the boards - such as the connection numbers for the heater circuit - so this might be the case.

    I think it is a simple error, just figuring out what it is without a real visual failure will take time.
    Thanks Mike

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Ibanez TSA15H schematic and biasing
    By diydidi in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2016, 11:25 AM
  2. Ibanez TSA15H tubescreamer not working
    By Wes in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-02-2014, 06:16 PM
  3. Peavey cs-400 Blowing Fuse
    By barnacle in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-11-2011, 11:13 PM
  4. Keeps blowing the fuse
    By holguin29 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 07:13 PM
  5. JTM Blowing Main Fuse?
    By cudamax2343 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-20-2009, 05:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •