Newb needs help with tubes.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newb needs help with tubes.

So i have a used Randall RD45 that i bought which i need to buy tubes for. I'm a complete newb to tube amps and any information about replacing tubes regarding that fact would be greatly appreciated. I need to know what type of tubes to buy and where they go in the slots on the amp, and if i need to do any biasing.

https://imgur.com/a/vrdLZtk
    Last edited by Joshua M; 11-26-2019, 09:30 PM.

If I am not mistaken, your amp uses dual 6L6 power tubes and 12AX7 preamp tubes. Are you sure you need to replace the tubes?

A copy of the schematic can be found here - https://el34world.com/Forum/index.php?topic=20389.0

Comment

I might not actually have to replace those two power tubes now that you mention it, but from what i've read replacing those definitely improves the tone according to people who have used this amp and swapped out the tubes. As for the preamp tubes that you mentioned they are, there aren't any so those i have to buy for sure. Do i have to do a bias adjustment if only replacing preamp tubes? or is it just for power tubes or changing any tube in general? Thanks for the help.

Comment

You do not set bias for preamp tubes.

As for the Power Tubes, do not assume the bias was set correctly. You might want to check that. The schematic has a recommended setting. You should see the bias pots near the tubes (on the chassis) - VR4B25K and VR5B25K. Do you know how to SAFELY use a voltmeter to measure voltages in a tube amp? If not, let someone else do it. The amp has HIGH VOLTAGE points and you could injure yourself if you are not familiar with this process.

Check a datasheet for the 6L6 - https://www.tubesandmore.com/product...jj-electronics

You might also read this thread for additional info - https://www.robchapman.tv/forum/thre...l-rd45h.35893/

Comment