Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Crackling Peavey Triple XXX

  1. #1
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Crackling Peavey Triple XXX

    Got a Triple xxx on a trade that made noise and replaced the power tubes and set the bias. As I was talking to a tech at Peavey about the noise I was hearing the amp started to hum loudly and the two left power tubes were glowing cherry red. I shut the amp down. I swapped the position of the tubes per the tech and powered the amp back up. Now no sound.... any suggestions. Going to check the screen resistors.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,552
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,384/1
    Given: 1,045/1
    Rep Power
    16
    Schematic here:

    https://www.thetubestore.com/lib/the...-Schematic.pdf

    You may have an open HT fuse. Check F1. Sadly these days, new tubes does not always mean good tubes. After you get power back up, I'd leave the output tubes removed and check voltages at the tube sockets. Make sure you have screen voltage and bias on all tubes. Then reinsert the tubes one at a time and see if one causes problems.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,686
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,132/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    Agree, the red plating tubes probably blew the HV fuse.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  4. #4
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Enzo View Post
    Agree, the red plating tubes probably blew the HV fuse.
    I thought I would put the old tubes in before getting too far into it and it powered up and had output. I thought I would check the bias before running it thought its paces and I get no reading on the bias......??

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,686
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,132/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    Putting old tubes back in it will not "heal" a blown high voltage fuse.

    Welcome to the forum, but I have to nit pick. The only time you get "no reading" on the meter is when the meter is turned off. Zero volts or infinite resistance or whatever are still readings.

    If your high voltage fuse is blown there will be no high voltage for the tube to make current with.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  6. #6
    Twobie
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    3
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 4/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Turned out the 6L6's were defective. Had three bad ones out 6 tubes. I had a new set of EL34 on hand that I put in. Amp is working good but I am still getting some frying and crackling noise. Should I be replacing the screen grid resistors? If so what is recommended for the value? I have read different things online.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Old Timer tedmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sonoma CA
    Posts
    3,395
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 271/2
    Given: 93/2
    Rep Power
    15
    I only replace the SGR if they read zero ohms (they do commonly blow) and I usually replace them with 1k 5W versions.
    I just did a XXX with 45F1K0E from Ohmite ($1.79 va Mouser)
    Even PV "saw the light" and used 750 ohm SGRs in the later JSX version amp. 100 Ohms is just too low for modern tubes IMHO.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,686
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,132/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    I only replace the SGR if they read zero ohms
    Does you perhaps mean infinite ohms, as in open?

    In many PV amps, you will typically find the 100 ohms BETWEEN two tubes on a side. The 100 ohms are there to separate the two tubes to prevent interaction, not as typical screen resistors. They then made that four resistors instead of two. FInally they went all the way.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  9. #9
    Old Timer tedmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sonoma CA
    Posts
    3,395
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 271/2
    Given: 93/2
    Rep Power
    15
    oops, good catch enzo,! yah open
    a lot of ohms!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Peavey Triple X leaking electrolyte
    By Mick Bailey in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-06-2015, 01:44 AM
  2. Peavey Triple X Super 40 schematic
    By guitardog in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-31-2014, 08:15 AM
  3. Peavey Triple X trouble
    By studiotech in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-19-2014, 12:19 AM
  4. Peavey Triple X head problems
    By guitardog in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-04-2012, 12:41 PM
  5. Peavey triple xxx changing channels on its own???
    By Danglin' Fury in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2012, 03:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •