No announcement yet.

Pickup Analysers buy or do-it-yourself?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pickup Analysers buy or do-it-yourself?

Hi,

I have been considering for a while now to buy a pickup-analyse device.
    However, since the price is kinda high, I could not help noticing people using USB scope devices with integrated function generators to do the job.

Looking at a (a.f.a.i.k.) descent USB scope device would be the Analog Discovery 2 By Digilent.
    It is a 15 bits device, which I believe means it can display better at low frequencies and low voltages.
    The idea is making a coil that excites the pickup with a frequency sweep and generating a bode plot.

All fancy terms, but I have no electro-technical experience, s forgive me ;-)

Question would be: any experiences in the field?
    Also, is it wise to spend twice or triple the money for a fixed setup that works out of the box?
    As apposed to doing some fiddling around (...spending, already way too much time investigating... ) and/but perhaps be flexible for way less $$$

Many thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts!
    Cheers,

Hans

How much is the PU analyzer?

I use this: https://www.velleman.eu/products/view/?id=407512 (PCSU200).
    Works great!

Useful information here: http://guitarnuts2.proboards.com/thr...guitar-pickups
    Last edited by Helmholtz; 12-30-2019, 09:34 PM.
    - Own Opinions Only -

Comment

Thank you very much for your response!

The pickup analyzer will set me back €690 without the software which is another €39 (excluding VAT that is, since I have a VAT registration the VAT is deductible)

That link was a good read for sure.

It appears my USB scope just does not have the bode plot function.
      Generating a sweep and reading / looking at the frequencies picked up works fine, also with a 8 bit depth apparatus :-)

Almost convinced now it is worth doing the fiddling around myself, thanks!

Cheers!
      Hans

Comment