Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hand wiring back end Blackstar HT60 Soloist

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    15
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 13/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Hand wiring back end Blackstar HT60 Soloist

    Hi there

    This is my first post, so thanks for letting me join your forum.

    I have a main PCB for the Blackstar HT60 soloist and want to do something useful with it. Has anyone any views on whether this is even achievable? Not sure if it will possible, or simply too much grief.

    Any thoughts?

    Cheers

    Steve

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    15
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 13/0
    Rep Power
    0
    I have just re-read my post and perhaps should clarify...

    My choices are:

    Pull it apart and use the part; or
    Try to find original blackstar rear pcb, power transformer plus an appropriate OT and rebuild as far as possible from OEM parts; or
    Make my own rear end for the main HT-60 pcb, but not using OEM parts.

    Of course, I could put it in a drawer and forget about it. I paid 30 for it, so I have a little headroom.

    Finally, there are many threads on here about the challenges getting hold of Blackstar schematics. I have emailed Blackstar, but not heard back.

    All the best

    Steve

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    13,106
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 629/3
    Given: 332/0
    Rep Power
    28

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,830
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 507/1
    Given: 102/0
    Rep Power
    14
    If it is a used PCB be aware that many of the earlier amps suffer from a breakdown in the PCB substrate around the phase inverter MOSFETS (usually these are IRF830) At the same time this overheats the nearby PI coupling caps (1uf/450V). There's also often DC leakage across the board between the L.H coupling cap (as viewed from the component side) and the power resistor leg that's located above and slightly to the left.

    The fix is tricky and sometimes there's leakage around the preamp tube pins. The official line is to replace the PCB with a later revision. You could got to a lot of trouble building up an amp only to be disappointed. Why was the board removed in the first place - do you know the history?

    Symptoms of board failure are:

    Extremely low output
    'Voice' selector switches kill sound when in (clean) channel, or out (drive) channel.
    Excessive voltage drop across drain resistors at idle
    Excessive voltages on gate and source pins of PI MOSFETS.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    15
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 13/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks, chaps.

    I bought the pcb as new, but with the volume pot snapped off. The price reflects the risk I am taking as list the main pcb is ridiculously expensive (300ish). I agree that it would be very frustrating to find the pcb has an inherent fault.

    Any thoughts on whether wiring a diy back section might be feasible?

    Cheers

    Steve

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,830
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 507/1
    Given: 102/0
    Rep Power
    14
    You could simplify it by not having an emulated line out or selectable loop level. The speaker sockets tie into the amp standby circuit, but if you wanted you could wire it to operate like any other tube amp speaker arrangement.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    15
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2/0
    Given: 13/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick Bailey View Post
    You could simplify it by not having an emulated line out or selectable loop level. The speaker sockets tie into the amp standby circuit, but if you wanted you could wire it to operate like any other tube amp speaker arrangement.
    That’s a very good idea. I doubt I will ever need an emulated line - not missed never having had one on any amps in the past.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Blackstar Soloist HT 60 bias help
    By mikeskory in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-11-2020, 02:55 AM
  2. Blackstar Stage HT60
    By alexradium in forum Tubes (Valves)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-08-2019, 09:05 PM
  3. Blackstar HT60 bias circuit
    By Roberto Lasco in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 06-26-2019, 01:37 AM
  4. Blackstar HT60 soloist oops!
    By LarBal in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-03-2018, 08:05 PM
  5. Blackstar HT60 PCB leaking voltage
    By Mick Bailey in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-01-2018, 09:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •