Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Ashdown Evo Mag 300 pulling current

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    270
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 28/0
    Given: 100/0
    Rep Power
    5

    Ashdown Evo Mag 300 pulling current

    http://bee.mif.pg.gda.pl/ciasteczkow...G300_schem.pdf

    Hey y’all,

    Have a strange issue. Working on an Ashdown Mag 300, shows bright on the limiter WITH load, but not without. About 70 mv DC offset, but measuring 54V AC at the output at idle... this seems off.

    Replaced the OT trannies with 2sa1943/2sc5200, still having the same issues.

    Does any of this seem off? In my experience, failure when connected to output has been DC offset, indicating half a burnt ot section.

    Thanks.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,755
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 446/0
    Given: 84/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Measuring AC at idle means oscillation. DC offset is OK. Are R18/C16 and their solder joints OK? I would disconnect PL1 and ground the input to the power amp to see if the problem still persists.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    828
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 298/1
    Given: 122/2
    Rep Power
    3
    Someone had given me a non-working Evo 300 a while back with rail to rail AC oscillation. My poor little bench speaker didn't even know what hit it I wish I could tell you how to fix it, but I spent a few hours on it and couldn't get it figured out and scrapped it. I remember not being able to see what was happening with the output waveform because it was too big for my fast digital scope and too fast for my slow analog scope. Should have made a voltage divider for it. Crazy waveform with very fast rise/falls and sharp peaks.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    270
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 28/0
    Given: 100/0
    Rep Power
    5
    Mick, you’re definitely onto something. AC disappears when I disconnected the preamp board, grounding the input has no effect though. Resoldered c16/c15 and everything around r18 to no effect. Solder points look pretty good overall.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,964
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,261/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    So scope every power rail, both high and low voltage. Any show signs of oscillation? Or are they all smooth DC?

    Look on your schematic at the output. Should find a small cap and resistor in series across the output. My drawing says 4.7 ohm 4W resistor and 220nf cap. Is your resistor open?

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  6. #6
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    828
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 298/1
    Given: 122/2
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_bibbles View Post
    Mick, you’re definitely onto something. AC disappears when I disconnected the preamp board, grounding the input has no effect though. Resoldered c16/c15 and everything around r18 to no effect. Solder points look pretty good overall.
    So if AC goes away when you unplug the preamp, do you see any AC at the Line Out? Maybe also look at make sure the Output pot hasn't gone open, I have had amps oscillate with an open master volume. Maybe look at the powerup mute on the preamp output too?

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    270
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 28/0
    Given: 100/0
    Rep Power
    5
    Thanks Enzo. I don’t have a scope, but I do have an audio probe. The resistor is intact and measure a pretty well.

    Perhaps there’s an other way to check the rails??

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    270
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 28/0
    Given: 100/0
    Rep Power
    5
    Thanks Glebert! Will check those and get back.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    270
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 28/0
    Given: 100/0
    Rep Power
    5
    So, Output pot measures well, no AC on the output DI or the turner line output. The mute seems like it functions, No AC on the output until the first relay click during startup.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    12,362
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,020/24
    Given: 5,143/11
    Rep Power
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_bibbles View Post
    shows bright on the limiter WITH load, but not without.
    Are you still on the bulb?
    If so, recommend you try connecting the load only while unit is turned on (when using bulb limiter). Power up without load, then connect load without turning unit off.
    The symptom of AC at the output is not typical for this type testing issue, but it's worth a try anyway.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Everything is better with a tube. I have a customer with an all-tube pacemaker. His heartbeat is steady, reassuring and dependable, not like a modern heartbeat. And if it goes wrong he can fix it himself. You can't do that with SMD." - Mick Bailey

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    270
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 28/0
    Given: 100/0
    Rep Power
    5
    Hey G1, good thinking. I’ve already done that and that’s what made me test for AC at the output in the first place... I saw an arc across the speaker cable when plugging it in! As soon as you add a load the bulb goes bright, just as with a failed OT.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    12,362
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,020/24
    Given: 5,143/11
    Rep Power
    24
    I don't think we are looking at the right schematic, so it's unclear when you call out component numbers.
    Your unit does not have FET outputs does it?
    Maybe the preamps are the same, but it needs to be verified. No bi-polar output devices in schematics from post #1.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Everything is better with a tube. I have a customer with an all-tube pacemaker. His heartbeat is steady, reassuring and dependable, not like a modern heartbeat. And if it goes wrong he can fix it himself. You can't do that with SMD." - Mick Bailey

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    270
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 28/0
    Given: 100/0
    Rep Power
    5
    I think it is the correct schematic, I could be wrong though.

    Page title: ABM output board
    Project: Bass Magnifier

    There’s text at the bottom to leave out tr3/tr6 c21/c211 on the 300 watt version, this is definitely the “Mag 300”. The 400/500 watt version pcb: acd001, but my board is APC041. It seems very similar but some things are off, I’ll look around.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    270
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 28/0
    Given: 100/0
    Rep Power
    5

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    270
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 28/0
    Given: 100/0
    Rep Power
    5
    Found it! Now that we have a correct PCB schem, I went back to the other suggestions by Enzo, checked the ACTUAL resistor/cap he meant, (r3/c3). They measured fine, but there was no continuity to ground, so I traced it all the way back to the preamp board where I found a lifted trace with a little discoloration.

    After reconnecting the ground, no AC on the output! Plugged in a load and it sounds fine.

    To further my understanding, am I right I guessing that those components are part of the NFB? A disconnected ground here would inject the oscillation straight to the speaker while leaving the rest of the amp alone?

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  16. #16
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,755
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 446/0
    Given: 84/0
    Rep Power
    14
    Unless I've misinterpreted post #5, I think Enzo meant the same RC pair I was thinking - the ones that sit right across the amp output. The ones you refer to in the latest schematic are on the input to the power amp - is this correct?

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  17. #17
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    32,964
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,261/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    55
    The resistor and cap I referred to are your "zobel network". An anti-oscillation circuit.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  18. #18
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,755
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 446/0
    Given: 84/0
    Rep Power
    14
    That's what I referred to as well.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New Rectifier Tubes Pulling massive current.
    By Intergalactic Tourister in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 12-13-2017, 11:21 PM
  2. What is pulling voltages down in this amp?
    By slidincharlie (Carlo P) in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 03-15-2015, 08:05 PM
  3. Ashdown ashdown eb 12-180 evo II (combo) - speaker failure
    By aff007 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-20-2011, 02:05 AM
  4. AB165 - 6L6 pulling WAY too much current.
    By DominoTree in forum Vintage Amps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 11:23 PM
  5. Pulling cover of P-bass
    By chevalij in forum Pickup Makers
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-12-2008, 12:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •