Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: L2 wmp12h 300watt floor Monitor

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    100
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 17/0
    Given: 5/0
    Rep Power
    2

    L2 wmp12h 300watt floor Monitor

    Good afternoon to you
    Now I might be being a dick here. But this amp is causing me pain

    It came in to me with a intermittent noise issue.
    I found the fault ir9 was soldered in but leg cut short it wasn't really soldered. Replaced it.
    Out the job went ok
    1 month later it came back distortion after a while.
    I found by heating and freezing the area around iq5 it would go away. In the end I replaced all the transistors in that area iq 1to 7 and 14. As all very close together.
    All changed like for like.
    Tested the amp heat and freezer it all seemed OK.

    Then it went to about 1/2 volume without touching it I wasn't heating or freezing at that time was on for 20 mins before it went
    When I tested it I can see its working perfectly without distortion but low output

    On checking using scope and signal gen I can see the signal in and out of pre amp is OK and higher level leaving the pre amp than the input.
    I'm I being a dick question
    But the signal entering the power amp is at same level as the output.!!!!
    Is this possible?
    Check all voltages 54'v +/- and 15v +/-
    Checked all the transistor /diodes
    Made sure the transistors I changed are good and correct ones
    At output have around 3v ac with gain /vol max
    I'm not an experienced tech. Just play for fun
    Any assistance would be grateful thanks in advance
    Arbutt
    Schematic to follow

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    100
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 17/0
    Given: 5/0
    Rep Power
    2
    Please bare with me struggling to get the map up loaded. I only use a phone. It says I can't upload a pdf format
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20200220_144842.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	4.26 MB 
ID:	57026
    Sorry it's the best I can do at present
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PM12-AMP.jpeg 
Views:	36 
Size:	469.7 KB 
ID:	57027

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Arbutt; 02-20-2020 at 03:05 PM.

  3. #3
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    12,345
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,016/24
    Given: 5,127/11
    Rep Power
    24
    So set it up again so you have 3VAC going in to the power amp.
    Measure the AC voltage at the following points and post your results:
    IQ1 base and collector
    IQ6 b & c
    IQ10 b & c

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Everything is better with a tube. I have a customer with an all-tube pacemaker. His heartbeat is steady, reassuring and dependable, not like a modern heartbeat. And if it goes wrong he can fix it himself. You can't do that with SMD." - Mick Bailey

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    100
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 17/0
    Given: 5/0
    Rep Power
    2
    Thank g1.
    OK as follows using dmm on ac range. Between chassis and transistors
    Iq1 base 3v collector 0v emitter 3v
    Iq6 base 0v collector 3v
    Iq10 base 3 .5v collector 0v emitter 3v

    I hope this helps. Many thanks for the help.
    I feared no one would help

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    100
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 17/0
    Given: 5/0
    Rep Power
    2
    Hello again
    Is there anyone that can help or shed some light on this.
    Too me it makes no senses.
    But believe me with a scope probes on input and output both on same setting per div etc.

    Arbutt

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,695
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,496/1
    Given: 1,111/1
    Rep Power
    17
    Do you have both rails- +VCC and -VCC?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    100
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 17/0
    Given: 5/0
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi. Yes I did. 54v +/— it's OK I have sorted it now.
    Resoldered the area again. And cleaned it.
    Worked for 4 days 6 hours a day. Been collected to sit about in storage �� till this shit is over


    Mr a

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-07-2019, 12:45 AM
  2. Active floor monitor troubleshooting
    By m1989jmp in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2018, 10:17 AM
  3. Laney CXP-110 Powered Floor monitor schematic request
    By tubeswell in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-05-2016, 05:36 AM
  4. Peavey 112M Floor Monitor Attenuator
    By TomCarlos in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 10:20 AM
  5. Peavey 115 TI floor monitor parts Help.
    By strangerock in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-29-2008, 05:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •