Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Music man 65 death cap

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    176
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 27/0
    Given: 2/0
    Rep Power
    4

    Music man 65 death cap

    I have this guy on the bench and it's my first music man. I noticed it came from the factory with a a three prong cord and a death cap. I also notice the neutral is running through the fuses and power switch. I really don't feel comfortable letting this go out with a potential unsafe condition but not sure which way to go here. I assume at a minimum I need to either disconnect or replace the death cap with x/y rated. On this setup, are you all typically swapping the hot and neutral wires as well?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	unnamed.png 
Views:	33 
Size:	121.1 KB 
ID:	57439

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    12,650
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,187/24
    Given: 5,515/11
    Rep Power
    24
    Yes. Neutral direct to xfrmr, hot to fuse in that drawing.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Everything is better with a tube. I have a customer with an all-tube pacemaker. His heartbeat is steady, reassuring and dependable, not like a modern heartbeat. And if it goes wrong he can fix it himself. You can't do that with SMD." - Mick Bailey

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    176
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 27/0
    Given: 2/0
    Rep Power
    4
    Got it. Would you remove or replace death cap?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,928
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,694/2
    Given: 1,219/1
    Rep Power
    18
    I would remove it. You can't trust ground to actually be ground in a lot of venues.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    176
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 27/0
    Given: 2/0
    Rep Power
    4
    Well, I wired as recommended and now the “Hi” setting lights up my dim bulb. After going through the fuses the black hot wire jumps down to the on/off switch pole. The throws are the yell/black back to the transformer (I assume this is some kind of center tap for the low switch) and the other throw is the Black hot back to the transformer. The white from the power cord is directly connected to the white on transformer. Gnd switch wires have been lifted. I have rewired many an amp just like this but I have never had one with a “lo” center tap. For some reason it doesn’t like the way I have it. Swapping it back to the switch being in the neutral leg and the dim bulb goes dim. I am missing something but can’t see it...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Supporting Member SoulFetish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,420
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 546/1
    Given: 457/0
    Rep Power
    7
    According to the schematic, If you’re trying to fuse and switch out the hot, you should be connecting the neutral right to the black wire. (See bottom of transformer schematic drawing).
    Then run the black hot wire to the fuses, then the fuses to the switch pole. The yellow black lead is actually the “high” setting.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If I have a 50% chance of guessing the right answer, I guess wrong 80% of the time.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    176
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 27/0
    Given: 2/0
    Rep Power
    4
    10-4. I am going to disconnect the transformer and do some experimenting this morning. Will report back.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    176
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 27/0
    Given: 2/0
    Rep Power
    4
    This works but am struggling to understand why. The resistance measurements on the primary indicate the yellow/black wire is a center tap. 4 ohms black to white. 2ohms either y/bl to wh or y/bl to bl. I just don't see why it would matter how it is connected but it does. Guess I need to see if I can find some documentation on a replacement transformer and see how it is wired internally. My fear is that down the road someone will open this amp and see a power cord neutral directly connected to a transformer black wire and get confused.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by tdlunsfo; 03-20-2020 at 04:14 PM.

  9. #9
    Supporting Member SoulFetish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,420
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 546/1
    Given: 457/0
    Rep Power
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by tdlunsfo View Post
    This works but am struggling to understand why. The resistance measurements on the primary indicate the yellow/black wire is a center tap. 4 ohms black to white. 2ohms either y/bl to wh or y/bl to bl. I just don't see why it would matter how it is connected but it does. Guess I need to see if I can find some documentation on a replacement transformer and see how it is wired internally. My fear is that down the road someone will open this amp and see a power cord neutral directly connected to a transformer black wire and get confused.
    Its not a centertap, because it’s off center and there are only two connections to the transformer at any given time, or its off. Look at the schematic at think about it in terms of turns ratio.
    Transformer lead wire in the primary is insignificant in that it is not required to be compliant with mains wiring color code.
    If you’re concerned leave a label inside the chassis explaining your changes

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If I have a 50% chance of guessing the right answer, I guess wrong 80% of the time.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    176
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 27/0
    Given: 2/0
    Rep Power
    4
    I see it now and I guess my resistance measurements threw me off. Then again, my meter is likely not accurate enough to measure it correctly.

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is this a death cap?
    By Triocd in forum Vintage Amps
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-16-2018, 05:26 AM
  2. Death cap
    By cowboy in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-03-2014, 11:55 PM
  3. 5E1/5F1 Death Cap
    By wcrankshaw in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-30-2010, 01:45 AM
  4. Your take on the death cap issue
    By Mars Amp Repair in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-09-2008, 02:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •