Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Crate amp Pots no longer aavailable what to do?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crate amp Pots no longer aavailable what to do?

I have a crate amp where 2 pots are defective and need to be replaced. Unfortunately I cannot locate these pots anywhere and need ideas on how to repair.
    The existing pots are mounted to the pc board and sit freely on the board and pass through the faceplate but are not mounted to the face plate.
    I know that they are 10k pots and was thinking is it possible to remove the offending pots and solder 3 wires to the board and run them to any old 10k pot that is mounted to the faceplate.
    Its been over 30 years since I worked as a technician so not familiar with current solutions or trends and checking to see if may be other solutions.
    Thanks for any help here

Kenru

If it is the same as I think it is similar to the Fender Front man 65 pots.
    There is a seller here; amprepairparts.com/pots.htm and that will show photos of the pots for reference.
    or fleabay of course.
    I am affiliated with neither.
    Support for Fender, Laney, Marshall, Mesa, VOX and many more. https://jonsnell.co.uk
    If you can't fix it, I probably can.

Comment

A picture of them would be invaluable.
      Experience is something you get, just after you really needed it.

Comment

Ken...

If all else fails, you can open the pot and try to repair it.

How Do Potentiometers Work And How To Service Them. Cleaning Volume Controls

Comment

pics

some pics for reference

Comment

Originally posted by Jon Snell View Post
            If it is the same as I think it is similar to the Fender Front man 65 pots.
            There is a seller here; amprepairparts.com/pots.htm and that will show photos of the pots for reference.
            or fleabay of course.
            I am affiliated with neither.