Peavey PV14AT bad channel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peavey PV14AT bad channel

Hey all. I'm an out of work live sound engineer and am taking on some electronic repair projects in my down time. I'd say that I'm an advanced novice. Good with a multimeter, scope, smd rework etc.

I've got a Peavey mixer on the bench with one bad channel. The clip light is permanently illuminated, no signal or compression lights function and it does not pass audio. Attached Schematic....

The LED is being illuminated by 14v at the 3PK1 Diode (D101)

Suspecting a bad q46 or q47 tranistor, I removed them, but the clip light is still illuminated.

Voltages on U10 are suspect but I'm not sure if the opamp is at fault or if they are originating else where.
    1.) -12.5
    2.).33
    3.)0
    4.) -14
    5.) 5
    6.) 4.4
    7.) 13
    8.) 0

Voltages on an adjacent working Channel:
    1.)0
    2.)0
    3.)0
    4.) -14
    5.)14
    6.)7.6
    7.)0
    8.)14

Also attached datasheets for relevant devices. Any ideas on what to check next would be appreciated!
    Attached Files

Your op amp is missing supply on pin 8. Are you sure your meter probe made good contact? If that is the correct reading, you may have a burnt trace to that pin of the IC. You'll have to trace out why there is no supply on that pin. You also have supply on the output pins 1 and 7 indicating a shorted op amp. Those should be 0VDC like the good channel My guess is that the op amp shorted and burnt a trace or link to the supply pin.
    "I took a photo of my ohm meter... It didn't help." Enzo 8/20/22

Comment

Whenever I see maxed VU, or permanent clip light, I immediately look at power supply. That almost always means you are missing a supply. Dude said that, you are missing +14v at the one chip.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment