Boredom from Covid-19

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boredom from Covid-19

Sick of being in lockdown, I decided to exercise my grey matter in intonation and fretboard radius.

I am not a guitar technician, I am a retired electronics technician; so it is pointless to ask me about the technicalities of guitar construction. I just wanted to exercise my brain as follows:

How do you measure the fretboard radius without a set of radius gauges, the attached PDF tells you how to measure it with the tools you already have.

Intonation stems from something that happened years ago, when I had to work for a living. A supplier had produced a nice looking 3/4 guitar, which could not be set up to play in tune. It transpires that they had simply taken a full size guitar, and scaled it down to 3/4. No one knew what was wrong, so I was given the job.

After a couple of evenings thinking the problem over, I realised what the problem was, and how to calculate the correct bridge position. The next day, after asking a guitar tech what the correct action should be at the twelth fret, I e-mailed the corrected dimensions to the manufacturer, and a new sample showed they had corrected it. The attached PDF shows my calculations

Kevin
    Attached Files

Originally posted by Kevina View Post
    Sick of being in lockdown, I decided to exercise my grey matter in intonation and fretboard radius.

I am not a guitar technician, I am a retired electronics technician; so it is pointless to ask me about the technicalities of guitar construction. I just wanted to exercise my brain as follows:

How do you measure the fretboard radius without a set of radius gauges, the attached PDF tells you how to measure it with the tools you already have.