Service-friendly and service-unfriendly brands

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Service-friendly and service-unfriendly brands

As an amateur electronics technician I have repaired many brands and type amplifiers over the years. Here are my impressions. Your mileage may vary. I know I am painting with a broad brush, but here goes.

Fender: Very service friendly. Schematics available. Parts for both tube and solid state available. Lots of advice/help from experienced technicians. There are lots of YouTube videos on repairing these amps.

Musicman: Not very service friendly. Well built amps and schematics available but many parts are not available.

Carvin: Not service friendly. Cheaply constructed. Some schematics available but with lots of design changes. Parts not available.

Peavey: Service friendly. Schematics available. Many parts available. Built well, though have not worked on real modern Chinese stuff.

Ampeg: Okay service friendly. Schematics available. Some parts are available.

SWR: Service friendly. Schematics available. Most parts available.

Hartke: Okay service friendly. Schematics available. Some parts available.

Univox: Not really service friendly. Some schematics available. Cheaply built. Parts (other than common resistors, capacitors, diodes, etc.) not available.

Originally posted by Axtman View Post
    As an amateur electronics technician I have repaired many brands and type amplifiers over the years. Here are my impressions. Your mileage may vary. I know I am painting with a broad brush, but here goes.

Fender: Very service friendly. Schematics available. Parts for both tube and solid state available. Lots of advice/help from experienced technicians. There are lots of YouTube videos on repairing these amps.

Musicman: Not very service friendly. Well built amps and schematics available but many parts are not available.