Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Behringer ultratone k450fx noise issues

  1. #1
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,647
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,326/102
    Given: 183/36
    Rep Power
    12

    Behringer ultratone k450fx noise issues

    I've got a Behringer ultratone K450fx that seems to have some digital noise(hash) intermittantly after about 30 minutes of play. Turning the FX level to 0 kills the noise . Looking for some suggestions of what I might should be looking for or what to monitor. Behringer+k3000fx.pdf

    thanks, nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  2. #2
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,647
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,326/102
    Given: 183/36
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by nosaj View Post
    I've got a Behringer ultratone K450fx that seems to have some digital noise(hash) intermittantly after about 30 minutes of play. Turning the FX level to 0 kills the noise . Looking for some suggestions of what I might should be looking for or what to monitor. Behringer+k3000fx.pdf

    thanks, nosaj
    Ok probably not the correct schematic, but looking at the fx processor it seems to me I should monitor the 5volt and maybe 15 volt rail an see which one goes wonky and proceed from there.

    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    33,512
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,545/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    57
    Freeze spray? If that stops the noise, then narrow it down. You can use a 3x5 card or even a sheet of paper to form a shield, so you can keep the spray only in certain areas. You can even roll it into a tube and put it around a single part, and blip a little freezit down in there.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  4. #4
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,647
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,326/102
    Given: 183/36
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Enzo View Post
    Freeze spray? If that stops the noise, then narrow it down. You can use a 3x5 card or even a sheet of paper to form a shield, so you can keep the spray only in certain areas. You can even roll it into a tube and put it around a single part, and blip a little freezit down in there.
    At the risk being a moron which area might you suggest freezing....definately not the 5 v regulator as that would crack it , it it were over heating , no?

    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  5. #5
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,934
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,695/2
    Given: 1,220/1
    Rep Power
    18
    I've never cracked a part with freeze spray. Regulators, processors, etc. can get hot. You could start with the finger test first. See what's getting hot.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ďYeah, well, you know, thatís just, like, your opinion, man.Ē

  6. #6
    Don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    12,656
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,191/24
    Given: 5,526/11
    Rep Power
    24
    I think monitor the supply lines as you mentioned. Look for dropping voltage or ripple when the problem occurs.
    If the supply lines stay solid, no need to freeze the regulators. (though I've done it and never cracked anything either)
    Once supplies are verified good try freezing other chips in FX circuit.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Everything is better with a tube. I have a customer with an all-tube pacemaker. His heartbeat is steady, reassuring and dependable, not like a modern heartbeat. And if it goes wrong he can fix it himself. You can't do that with SMD." - Mick Bailey

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    33,512
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,545/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    57
    I have never had a part crack from freeze spray. It isn't liquid nitrogen.

    Turning FX to zero kills the noise, so to me, power supply is on all the time, so I am led to suspect the analog FX circuits. I have no idea where they are on a board. So with the thing running and noisy, I just spray the whole darn thing. Does that stop the noise? If so THEN spray smaller areas. We narrow it down to smaller areas until we find something sensitive.


    COuld be signal path, could be power supply. That is what freeze spray is made for. it isn't for cooling your coffee.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  8. #8
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,647
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,326/102
    Given: 183/36
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Enzo View Post
    I have never had a part crack from freeze spray. It isn't liquid nitrogen.

    Turning FX to zero kills the noise, so to me, power supply is on all the time, so I am led to suspect the analog FX circuits. I have no idea where they are on a board. So with the thing running and noisy, I just spray the whole darn thing. Does that stop the noise? If so THEN spray smaller areas. We narrow it down to smaller areas until we find something sensitive.


    COuld be signal path, could be power supply. That is what freeze spray is made for. it isn't for cooling your coffee.
    Canned air upside down a suitable sub for freeze spray?
    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  9. #9
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    33,512
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 2,545/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    57
    yes, better than nothing.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  10. #10
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,934
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,695/2
    Given: 1,220/1
    Rep Power
    18
    FWIW: I worked on one of those not too long ago with similar symptoms. It ended up not being the effects that were the cause. There was a shorted op amp on one of the inputs sending hash to the effects board. The effects circuit was just doing what it's supposed to do. I'd first make sure all of your inputs work. If they do, then move on to the effects circuit. If not, fix any non working channels first.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ďYeah, well, you know, thatís just, like, your opinion, man.Ē

  11. #11
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,647
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,326/102
    Given: 183/36
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dude View Post
    FWIW: I worked on one of those not too long ago with similar symptoms. It ended up not being the effects that were the cause. There was a shorted op amp on one of the inputs sending hash to the effects board. The effects circuit was just doing what it's supposed to do. I'd first make sure all of your inputs work. If they do, then move on to the effects circuit. If not, fix any non working channels first.
    All inputs working, once opened I see the board is an lpa145 here be the schematichttps://diagramas.diagramasde.com/ot...PA145_RevG.pdf
    nosaj

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

  12. #12
    Master Destroyer nosaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pace, FL
    Posts
    3,647
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,326/102
    Given: 183/36
    Rep Power
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by nosaj View Post
    All inputs working, once opened I see the board is an lpa145 here be the schematichttps://diagramas.diagramasde.com/ot...PA145_RevG.pdf
    nosaj
    Replaced c9 and c5 for the 5v supply . Reasoning being based on the k3000 schematics its DSP module used 5v so I inferred the same here. And knowing that Digital requires a much cleaner DC than analog I replaced c9 and c5 and after 4 hrs no electronic hash noises.

    Case closed only thing is now I have to sell it.

    nosaj

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Binkie McFartnuggets‏:If we really wanted to know the meaning of life we would have fed Stephen Hawking shrooms a long time ago.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Behringer ultratone k450fx board problem
    By Michaelpojas in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-17-2019, 02:04 PM
  2. Behringer Ultratone K900FX
    By dwatki in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-22-2015, 09:16 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2014, 01:08 AM
  4. 5E3 noise issues
    By Jonny toetags in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-18-2013, 02:35 AM
  5. Behringer ULTRATONE K900FX PA/ Keyboard Amp
    By Wonker in forum Other Amps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2009, 03:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •