Converting tube PA into guitar amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Converting tube PA into guitar amp

I recently have taken on the challenge of converting an old Rauland 2135 into use for a guitar. It actually sounds pretty good without any modifications, but clearly there is more potential. Im fairly new to this whole DIY world, so bear with me. Ive had a few, actually several, troubles with this. and not having the schematic doesnt help.

1. I simply dont know where to put a 1/4" jack. Its been almost a week and ive been getting by using the XLR connections with a 1/4" adapter, but I speculate the connection isnt all that great because almost always I dont get a signal until i jiggle it around, which I know probably makes the issue worse. I read an article suggesting that you place it between the grid of whatever stage your using(stage 4, 1 and 2 dont work) and the ground to the circuit ground connection of the cathode. Couldnt get that to work, probably meaning I went wrong somewhere

2. An extremely loud hum/buzz. The tube lineup is six 12AX7's, 2 EL34's, 1 5AR4, along with master volume, phone stage, R.C. connections and four inputs. I suppose all this activity could be causing alot of unnecessary noise? I wouldnt use the phono or the r.c. so I would like to take them out, but I dont have enough wire tracing skills to remove them and bridge the connection back together. Also, this thing is dated 1966, so I know a cardinal rule is to replace the capacitors. Any thoughts on how I might could troubleshoot the excessive noise source? I can live with the bad connection, but the noise has got to lessen.

3. Master Volume. The master volume comes directly after the input volume controls, which I have read to be pretty lame for guitar use. Any thoughts on where else this can go?

Any help or additional advice would be greatly appreciated!!

You can wire up a 1/4" input where one of the XLR inputs is.