Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question regarding 5e3 build

Greetings,

I am starting to build a 5e3 using the Weber schematic and layout (found here and here, respectively). As a first step, I am verifying that the schematic and layout are consistent with eachother, and I found one difference: the schematic specifies that pin 3 of V3 connects to the OT primary via the brown wire, and pin 3 of V4 connects to the primary via the blue wire. The layout has these connections reversed. From what I know of tube circuits, the amp should work fine either way I make the connection; though reversing the connection would result in the sound being 180 degrees out of phase with what it would have been otherwise. However, I'm a beginner when it comes to building amps, so I'm posting here to ask, am I correct with regard to this particular issue, and if not, can someone tell me which way of connecting the OT is correct? If I'm not correct, I would also be interested in knowing where my misconceptions lie, as I am trying to learn as much as I can about how tube amps work, it's a fascinating subject to me.

Thanks in advance for any help which anyone can provide!

It really doesn't matter which way you connect it, either way will work fine. On an amp with negative feedback this can cause a problem if not connected correctly, as the nfb then becomes pfb (positive feedback). But in this case, no NFB, no problem.

Comment

Thank you, kind sir!

The "negative feedback becomes positive feedback if the OT is wired backwards" issue must be why, on some of Weber's designs with negative feedback, such as the 5E8A, for example, there is a notation on the schematic which says, "If loud oscillation occurs, reverse blue and brown wires."

Comment

Yep, you got it. The positive feed back wil cause a loud oscillation that can scare the crud out of you. Reverse the OT wires to correct it.

Comment

Originally posted by hasserl View Post