Wiring help for an old Teisco

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wiring help for an old Teisco

Hello. I just picked up an old Teisco 4 pickup guitar and need a little wiring help. This is my first project guitar, so any help would be appreciated. Most of the wiring looks good, but the tone pot and associated capacitor need to be reconnected. There was also a wire going from the positive side of the input jack into a hole that leads to the bridge cavaity. The wire wasn't connected to anything. The hole is obviously for a string ground, so I'm guessing that a previous tinkerer stuffed the wrong wire in there.

I've done a lot of looking at diagrams, and couldn't find any that look like a clear fit for what I have. The biggest thing I'm having problems with is where to put the cap for the tone pot. The tone pot is already grounded, so I guess that means I have to put the cap on the positive side.

Anyway, here's my best guess.

1) Put a capactior between the positive side of the input jack and the middle tone pot connector.

2) Run a ground wire from the back of the volume pot to the back of the tone pot.

3) Run a new ground wire from the strings to the back of the tone pot.

4) Connect the negative side of the input jack to the back of the tone pot to complete the ground.

I could also un-solder a thing or two and go with a more modern setup. I've attached a picture, which hopefully will help.

Thanks,

Ken
    Attached Files

It looks like someone wired this for a volume control only at some time. You will need a bridge ground. Any schematic with one tone ond one volume control will work for you after the switch like a telecaster, an Lp Jr, etc.

Comment

Thanks olddawg. I put a new cap in, 50s style, added the ground wires and off I went. It sounds pretty good. The 4 side by side rocker switchs for the pickups cut in and out occasionally, so I've got a little clean up to do there, but everything else seems to be in good shape.

Thanks again,

Ken