Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with Gibson GA-5T

Hi all,
    WHAT'S UP:I just bought a Gibson GA-5T that needs a bit of TLC. It has had a "cap job" and three prong power cord added but I am not sure if it was done competently so I have a couple of questions about that. It also seems to have very low output so I hope to get a bit of direction on what may be the culprit.

THE AMP: Circa. 1965 GA-5T, 6EU7, 6CA, 2xEL84. Per factory schem this little guy puts out 12.5 watts. Right now I think it just might be putting out 1 watt or less. It doesn't sound bad, nice trem, nice tubey chimey highs and decent bass. A little bit of hum but not too bad on that either.

MY EXPERIENCE: I have been building pedals for 7 years or so and am getting into amps. I can work on an amp safely but have limited knowledge on what really makes them tick.

FACTORY SCHEM WITH VOLTAGE READINGS:
    http://www.informatik.uni-bremen.de/...back_qual6.jpg

I've spent time making a LAYOUT WITH THE ACTUAL VOLTAGE READINGS to compare...

POWER SUPPLY:

TUBES AND BOARD:

POWER SUPPLY QUESTIONS:
    1) The two rectifier diodes have been replaced with 1N4001's. Can they handle this much voltage? If not, what are suitable replacements?

2) There are 4 -20uF filter caps in the schematic but only three were used in the "cap job". The 20uF cap for the preamp stage (C13A)was omitted. Is this an OK way do do things or was the cap job a hack job? BTW the work looks cleanly done, but I noticed the "death cap" was still in place after the grounded power cord was installed?

3)The resistors after the B+ have been modified (1K down to 22 ohms and 3.3K down to 330 ohms) is that kosher?

TUBE AND CIRCUIT VOLTAGES: