Basic Humbucker Coil Winding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic Humbucker Coil Winding

I am hoping some of the more experienced winders on this forum would be willing to share the best way to start and finish winding of a humbucker coil and to interconnect the coils. I'm just starting out with this and good information seems to be very hard to find.

Stewmac gives pretty detailed instructions for a Strat or Tele coil, but is very vague on a HB. Since the bobbins are different, I assume the technique is different too. In particular since there are eyelets on a Strat / Tele coil, but no eyelets on a HB what do you do with the "start" end of the coil when you begin winding?

I'm not looking for anyone's trade secrets just basic info

Thanks for sharing!

I just tape my start to the faceplate of my winder.
    -Stan
    ...just transferring wire from one spool to another
    Stan Hinesley Pickups
    FaceBook

Comment

Solder a lead wire on first. That little bit of wire (Going to the center of the coil)is super hard to solder too, once a coil is wound.

Comment

I solder a lead wire first, tape over the join before starting to wind. I normally use different colors for the start and end leads to mark which is which. This is important when you assemble the humbucker.

Comment

I used to just tape the start on the faceplate, but I've been breaking that wire when I solder on my leads lately, requiring my to rewind the coil, so now I solder my lead wire on first. Must be getting clumsy...
          It would be possible to describe everything scientifically, but it would make no sense; it would be without meaning, as if you described a Beethoven symphony as a variation of wave pressure. — Albert Einstein

http://coneyislandguitars.com
          www.soundcloud.com/davidravenmoon

Comment